Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About
It is currently Wed Aug 31, 2016 5:32 pm
Recently the board software has been updated and there are some known bugs/failures:
- Avatars are currently not being displayed ✔ FIXED
- Tapatalk connection is currently broken ✔ FIXED
- Avatars cannot be uploaded ✔ FIXED

Please note that we will soon do some changes in WW board template design in case to get a fully mobile/desktop responsiveness board!
If you find more errors please post it here: http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=139062


All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 6:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:08 am
Posts: 8227
Location: Geelong
After finally killing the HR strap that came with my 705 (and having a short and very underwhelming run with a Premium Garmin HR strap - died in less than a year), I need a replacement.

Anyone tried a PRO SCIO W4.1

http://www.madison.co.uk/products/cycli ... tic-strap/

otherwise looking like I'll go a Suunto.

_________________
http://www.nicksquillari.com.au


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 7:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 6:23 pm
Posts: 291
I replaced my Garmin strap with the Polar Soft Strap. There are rubber grommets around the contact points that you have to cut down flush with the contact points in order for the Garmin HR transmitter to snap in. No problems so far, been about 4 months.

_________________
http://ddubcustomsportswear.com


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 7:33 pm 
Offline
Resident master of GIF

Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 2:44 am
Posts: 2744
Razor wrote:
I replaced my Garmin strap with the Polar Soft Strap. There are rubber grommets around the contact points that you have to cut down flush with the contact points in order for the Garmin HR transmitter to snap in. No problems so far, been about 4 months.


x ∞

_________________
Nate ★ Life , my tumblr joint
Instagramz


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 7:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 9:39 pm
Posts: 607
i replaced my Garmin strap with a CycleOps HR one. most of the HR straps are very similar is size.

_________________
- AX Lightness Vial EVO D + DA9070 + Enve SES 3.4 Enve carbon hubs
- Parlee Altum + DA9070 + Enve 2.2 Enve carbon hubs
- Parlee ESX + DA9070 + Enve SES 4.5 CK hubs
- Independent Fabrication Ti FLW + Campy SR11 + Enve 3.4 CK hubs


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 7:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:08 am
Posts: 8227
Location: Geelong
Razor wrote:
I replaced my Garmin strap with the Polar Soft Strap. There are rubber grommets around the contact points that you have to cut down flush with the contact points in order for the Garmin HR transmitter to snap in. No problems so far, been about 4 months.

To be explicit, I have the older one that came with the 705. Ie

http://www.wigglestatic.com/images/garmin-hrm-zoom.jpg

The Premium one was thrown out, as it didn't work any more. So counts out using any part of that as a hybrid with a Polar strap.

_________________
http://www.nicksquillari.com.au


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 10:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 6:23 pm
Posts: 291
Tinea Pedis wrote:
Razor wrote:
I replaced my Garmin strap with the Polar Soft Strap. There are rubber grommets around the contact points that you have to cut down flush with the contact points in order for the Garmin HR transmitter to snap in. No problems so far, been about 4 months.

To be explicit, I have the older one that came with the 705. Ie

http://www.wigglestatic.com/images/garmin-hrm-zoom.jpg

The Premium one was thrown out, as it didn't work any more. So counts out using any part of that as a hybrid with a Polar strap.


Wouldn't the 705 still receive the same HR signal as say the Edge 500? If so, maybe you could just get the 500 HR transmitter and strap. :noidea:

_________________
http://ddubcustomsportswear.com


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 11:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:08 am
Posts: 8227
Location: Geelong
:doh:

Yes, that's precisely my question. What ant+ compatible heart rate strap have people found to work well - comfort, longevity and function wise.

Sorry, I thought that was clear in the opening post...


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

_________________
http://www.nicksquillari.com.au


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2014 11:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 3:37 am
Posts: 159
I use this Motorola one.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B006K0PFEU/re ... us?ie=UTF8

It has worked well for me so far.


Also, it is quite comfortable.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2014 9:42 am 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 11:08 am
Posts: 6769
Location: Urbana, Illinois
You Pro's are hard on your equipment. :shock: I use the premium strap although with that said they seem to only last two years or so and then I'm buying another one. For me while its a PITA kits sort of like replacing worn out components on the bike.

_________________
RESIDENT GRUMPY OLD MAN.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2014 9:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 11:33 am
Posts: 371
Location: T'ba!
Per twitter, I am using a Cyclops strap however I am using the Garmin pod with it as the Cyclops HRM died after some 400hrs. The Garmin pod clipped straight on.

_________________
My Training & Racing Blog -->http://mountainbikemediocrity.wordpress.com
Fuelled by --> http://www.pro4mance.com.au


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2014 10:08 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2007 10:23 am
Posts: 1047
Location: Pack filler
Using my powertap one.
Exceptionally long battery life and comfortable.

It must be good; its outseen 4 lots of hub internals :?

_________________
Official cafe stop tester


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2014 11:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 3:03 am
Posts: 33
I replaced mine with http://www.mioglobal.com/Mio-Link-Gray/ ... vQodCloAew


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2014 1:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 8:09 pm
Posts: 1354
Location: Aix en Provence
Also using the cycleops one. Been OK.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2014 3:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 25, 2014 4:57 am
Posts: 949
24 months with a premium one and still going, I wash it after every ride tho.

_________________
Using Tapatalk


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2014 4:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 7:28 pm
Posts: 855
I switched to mio link as well. Seems to work alright. Less 200bpm spikes anyway.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 Next

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Training with heart rate

in Training

pizzayum

5

453

Wed Apr 06, 2016 4:38 pm

boots2000 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Heart rate monitor

in Road

Poulidor

6

512

Thu Oct 08, 2015 2:46 am

junchen View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Lazer's Z1 and LifeBEAM heart rate...

in Road

CharlesM

4

592

Sun May 29, 2016 1:30 pm

BRM View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Base training - heart rate vs power

[ Go to page: 1 2 ]

in Training

benzebub

21

2070

Tue Jan 19, 2016 1:58 am

mentok View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. screwdriver size for Garmin hrm battery replacement

in Training

alanmclean

7

219

Mon Aug 29, 2016 12:26 pm

BRM View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: nobuseri and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited