London To Newcastle In 24 Hours Training?

A light bike doesn't replace good fitness.

Moderator: Moderator Team

ramchip

by ramchip

I’m looking for a little help from anybody with experience of ultra cycling events to help me put a training plan together. I want to ride this event (http://www.ride24hr.com/2newcastle.php) next year. In reality I’m just a newbie in regards to cycling. I started cycling last July when I was overweight. Starting with just 5K rides, slowly but surely increasing my rides, I lost five and a half stones and completed the Deloite Ride Across Britain 990 miles in nine days, although being honest it nearly killed me, or at least it felt like it.

I class myself as a “plodder” and it seems my existing training is simple training my body to ride longer but slowly. I’m very lucky as I’m semi retired and live in south east Spain so I can ride all winter long so just need some guidance.

Could someone advise me on what training I should now be doing to target the London to Newcastle ride which will also help me increase my speed and endurance.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

deltree

by deltree

Ok the website says it's 7 "stages" of 40-45 miles each. The climbing is pretty low. What I'd start out with is hashing out a training loop (or two/three to decrease the monotony) of that distance with the start and end at your house. That way you're not too far from your base and you can ride your training like the event with pitstops,refueling and restocking.

What equipment do you have at your disposal? Garmin? HR monitor? etc.

ramchip

by ramchip