Anyone using Widows Phone for Strava?

A light bike doesn't replace good fitness.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
Devon
Posts: 775
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 1:19 pm
Location: Oxford, England

by Devon

My Edge 500 decided to do what Garmins do best - and packed in, forcing me to use my phone.
This happens to be a Nokia Lumia running Windows (not my choice...)

Now this doesn't run a legitimate Strava app, so I have been using 'Run The Map' which is truly
awful. The GPS signal cuts out constantly; resulting in straight lines between points, rather than
following roads. It does however be the only app that seems to allow for upload a file to Strava(?)

Any suggestions until I have the funds for a replacement GPS?
Last edited by Devon on Sat Oct 11, 2014 4:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Campagnolo; because it's a bicycle, not a fishing rod.

rijndael
Posts: 395
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 12:54 pm
Location: Haines, AK - Temporarily

by rijndael


by Weenie


User avatar
Devon
Posts: 775
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 1:19 pm
Location: Oxford, England

by Devon

Can you upload to Strava with this app without paying for the add-in?
Campagnolo; because it's a bicycle, not a fishing rod.

martinko
Posts: 359
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 9:08 am
Location: Slovakia

by martinko

I use Endomondo to track my ride. Then I export the GPX file on their website and upload it to Strava. Ok, it is little bit tedious to manually export and import each ride, but it works without problems.

Blame Strava for this, when they advice you to use competitor's app instead of providing their own one.

rijndael
Posts: 395
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 12:54 pm
Location: Haines, AK - Temporarily

by rijndael

Devon wrote:Can you upload to Strava with this app without paying for the add-in?


I don't use it, it's just what's been recommended by some folks that do use it.

User avatar
Devon
Posts: 775
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 1:19 pm
Location: Oxford, England

by Devon

martinko wrote:I use Endomondo to track my ride. Then I export the GPX file on their website and upload it to Strava. Ok, it is little bit tedious to manually export and import each ride, but it works without problems.

Blame Strava for this, when they advice you to use competitor's app instead of providing their own one.


Ha ha. I don't blame them for not bothering with Windows phone to be honest. I'll give this a go. probably the best option if recommended by Strava...
Campagnolo; because it's a bicycle, not a fishing rod.

rijndael
Posts: 395
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 12:54 pm
Location: Haines, AK - Temporarily

by rijndael

I don't blame companies either, of everyone I know with phones, 3 have Windows phones. Those 3 people also work for Microsoft, or got a deal from an MS employee.

User avatar
Devon
Posts: 775
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 1:19 pm
Location: Oxford, England

by Devon

:lol:

I'm only using it because my Android is at the bottom of a river in Vietnam. Oops.
Campagnolo; because it's a bicycle, not a fishing rod.

racer1
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 1:30 am
Location: Bethel, CT

by racer1

The app I use for my windows phone is cyclers. It uploads directly to strava.

by Weenie


kulivontot
Posts: 1170
Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 7:28 pm

by kulivontot

Tapariik syncs with endomondo I think

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post