HOT: Active* forum members generally gain 5% discount at starbike.com store!
Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2014 4:06 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 1:19 pm
Posts: 676
Location: South West England
My Edge 500 decided to do what Garmins do best - and packed in, forcing me to use my phone.
This happens to be a Nokia Lumia running Windows (not my choice...)

Now this doesn't run a legitimate Strava app, so I have been using 'Run The Map' which is truly
awful. The GPS signal cuts out constantly; resulting in straight lines between points, rather than
following roads. It does however be the only app that seems to allow for upload a file to Strava(?)

Any suggestions until I have the funds for a replacement GPS?

_________________
"If you haven't ridden an aluminium bike lately, you haven't ridden an aluminium bike." - Chuck Teixeira

Kinesis Aithein / Campagnolo Centaur


Last edited by Devon on Sat Oct 11, 2014 4:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Sat Oct 11, 2014 4:06 pm 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2014 4:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 12:54 pm
Posts: 395
Location: Haines, AK - Temporarily
http://www.windowsphone.com/en-us/store ... 4893d3bb50


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2014 4:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 1:19 pm
Posts: 676
Location: South West England
Can you upload to Strava with this app without paying for the add-in?

_________________
"If you haven't ridden an aluminium bike lately, you haven't ridden an aluminium bike." - Chuck Teixeira

Kinesis Aithein / Campagnolo Centaur


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2014 4:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 9:08 am
Posts: 268
Location: Slovakia
I use Endomondo to track my ride. Then I export the GPX file on their website and upload it to Strava. Ok, it is little bit tedious to manually export and import each ride, but it works without problems.

Blame Strava for this, when they advice you to use competitor's app instead of providing their own one.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2014 4:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 12:54 pm
Posts: 395
Location: Haines, AK - Temporarily
Devon wrote:
Can you upload to Strava with this app without paying for the add-in?


I don't use it, it's just what's been recommended by some folks that do use it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2014 4:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 1:19 pm
Posts: 676
Location: South West England
martinko wrote:
I use Endomondo to track my ride. Then I export the GPX file on their website and upload it to Strava. Ok, it is little bit tedious to manually export and import each ride, but it works without problems.

Blame Strava for this, when they advice you to use competitor's app instead of providing their own one.


Ha ha. I don't blame them for not bothering with Windows phone to be honest. I'll give this a go. probably the best option if recommended by Strava...

_________________
"If you haven't ridden an aluminium bike lately, you haven't ridden an aluminium bike." - Chuck Teixeira

Kinesis Aithein / Campagnolo Centaur


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2014 5:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 12:54 pm
Posts: 395
Location: Haines, AK - Temporarily
I don't blame companies either, of everyone I know with phones, 3 have Windows phones. Those 3 people also work for Microsoft, or got a deal from an MS employee.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2014 5:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 1:19 pm
Posts: 676
Location: South West England
:lol:

I'm only using it because my Android is at the bottom of a river in Vietnam. Oops.

_________________
"If you haven't ridden an aluminium bike lately, you haven't ridden an aluminium bike." - Chuck Teixeira

Kinesis Aithein / Campagnolo Centaur


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2014 6:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 1:30 am
Posts: 99
Location: Bethel, CT
The app I use for my windows phone is cyclers. It uploads directly to strava.


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Sat Oct 11, 2014 6:26 pm 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2014 8:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 7:28 pm
Posts: 768
Tapariik syncs with endomondo I think


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Garmin 810 or 1000 for phone connectivity

in Road

RippedUp

13

898

Mon Mar 30, 2015 9:01 pm

keith View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Strava community

in Cycle Chat

CH4K1

2

384

Tue Aug 18, 2015 2:38 pm

CH4K1 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Strava and planning training.

in Training

Frankie - B

2

459

Thu Jan 14, 2016 12:31 pm

Frankie - B View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Strava just stopped using Google Maps

[ Go to page: 1, 2 ]

in Cycle Chat

Ahillock

19

1332

Mon Aug 03, 2015 5:28 am

wojchiech View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Anyone have a good power or strava file of a 3-4 man break?

in Training

ultyguy

10

1269

Thu May 14, 2015 8:17 am

ultyguy View the latest post


It is currently Fri Feb 12, 2016 1:48 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Advertising   –  FAQ   –  Contact   –  Convert   –  About

© Weight Weenies 2000-2013
hosted by starbike.com


How to get rid of these ads? Just register!


Powered by phpBB