Gravel Noob - Advice on parts!

The spirit of Grav-lo-cross. No but seriously, cyclocross and gravel go here!

Moderator: Moderator Team

unrulyerick

by unrulyerick

Hey everyone...

As mentioned above, I am a noob to the Gravel/CX/Touring scene. I recently moved to Chicago and have seen the need to have a do-it-all kind of bike. So I went ahead and purchased a Specialized Sequoia Elite. Long story short...great bike. Pretty good on tarmac, stable in gravel, agile in mud, but most importantly...fun as hell!!

BTW - I enjoy the gravel/single track as well as the tarmac. I feel the bike is a bit heavy for CX...maybe I'm wrong...

However, I have noticed a couple of potential upgrades or changes to hopefully make the bike better. And here is where I need your advice. It really revolves around 3 topics. Crank, Wheels, Tires.

Crank - I am looking into going X1, to eliminate the front-shifting and simplify the build. Also the FSA crank I have now is meh...Question is, should I go with X1? Or just upgrade the crank? My worries is topping out on X1.

Wheels - The specialized wheels are great...bombproof. But I would like something a little quicker and aero for the tarmac days. Nothing fancy...Zipp 30 course is more or less what I'm looking at.

Tires - The sawtooth are great, but on tarmac at 45PSI, they are a bit fluffy. I have looked at Schwalbe g-ne and Maxxis Re-Fuse. I want something a little quicker on tarmac, but still stable on gravel. CX tires I will buy separate as they are quite different. Any suggestions?

I really appreciate your help guys! Kinda new to this stuff and money is tight...don't have much room to shit the bed on a purchase...

Thanks a million! :mrgreen:

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

Calnago
In Memoriam

by Calnago