CX and gravel tire

The spirit of Grav-lo-cross. No but seriously, cyclocross and gravel go here!

Moderator: Moderator Team

wheelzqc

by wheelzqc

Looking for a gravel tire (and bonus if it can CX). I was thinking of the Clement LAS as a tire that can be fast on gravel for races. I was wondering if a tire like the Schwalbe G-One might be faster/smoother ? The LAS has the bonus of being a good cross tire as well. Any other file thread to look at ? Right now I have a a PDX/MXP combo for CX, MSO 40mm for trails. Looking for something faster. Compass look like they offer a good choice but $$

thprice

by thprice

I have been using Continental Cyclocross Speed for the past two years.
Good all-round tyre for mixed terrain (road, gravel, dirt, etc) :thumbup:
Would use a different tread pattern if the ride was a mud pit.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

wheelzqc

by wheelzqc

Thanks for the suggestion. I knew about this model but forgot about it !

I'm a fan of how the PDX hook up to grass and ground on the corners. I might be wrong to think that, but since the LAS have the same side thread, I imagine they would hook up nicely. I have yet to test, the transition from flat to knobs might be unpredictable ?!

Continental Speed : 35mm / 350gr. definitly looks like a fast thread, might be missing a tad of grip for a fast CX race ?!
Schwalbe G-One : 35mm / 400gr. Tubeless is a plus, looks like a fast tire for road/gravel. Not CXable.
Clement LAS : 35mm / 350gr. I've enjoyed all my Clement tires. Good thread for faster CX, will they slow down on gravel ?
Compass Bon Jon : 35mm / 300-350gr... Looks really fast and smooth but they cost double the price of the others.

velomane

by velomane

wheelzqc wrote:Schwalbe G-One : 35mm / 400gr. Tubeless is a plus, looks like a fast tire for road/gravel. Not CXable.