Tubeless Adventure Cross Tyre Reccomendations

The spirit of Grav-lo-cross. No but seriously, cyclocross and gravel go here!

Moderator: Moderator Team

SgtRock

by SgtRock

Hi

Apologies if there are similar threads out there but I am after tubeless tyre recommendations for adventure cross events. I started riding cross racing over the winter but this was on full knobblys (Spec Terra Pro Tubeless) which were very good. Now the season is over I'm looking to do some longer events and I have the Clif Cross and Moors and Shores rides coming up. They appear to be a mix of road, gravel track, bridleway and grass, and at this time of year probably mud.

If it weren't for the road stuff I would possibly stick with the Terra Pros but they are sluggish on road and with summer coming on probably not the best for when the trails dry out. So I am after a do it all tyre that will get me through the spring, when things are still drying out, and be ok for long on / off road rides.

I've ridden tubeless on my road bike for years and love em. No failures, at least none that Stan's fluid hasn't resolved. So off road I definately want to keep the tubeless theme going. I will be mounting on Kinesis CrossLight or Pacenti SL25 rims - so should be good for most tyres I think.

I seen really good feedback on WTB Nano 40c, but they do seem a a little weighty, although probably very robust. The WTB Cross Boss is lighter and still gets good feed back.

Also looked at Kenda Block Eight Pro and Happy Mediums as well as Hutchinson Black Mambas.

There appear to be other options like the Clement X'plor MSO but I don't think the tubeless version is out yet. I know a lot of folk run non tubeless tyres converted. I Would probably be happy with this for a cross event but I am likely to run higher pressures on a long event because of the road sections and therefore I am a little nervous about blow off's.

So can you help me decide. Any feedback or suggestions would be very gratefully received.