Gravel race tires

The spirit of Grav-lo-cross. No but seriously, cyclocross and gravel go here!

Moderator: Moderator Team

rupps5

by rupps5

I am a Long time cat1 xc racer that is new to gravel racing. I have no experience with gravel tires, so I'm coming here for some tire recommendations for Southern Cross. Which tires do you gravel racers run? Which tires are generally on the podium?

stoney

by stoney

That depends on the conditions of the day. If using tubeless many have had success with Specialized Triggers. They have 33 and 38 sizes. The 38 has increased puncture resistance but that adds to the weight of the tire.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

rupps5

by rupps5

I would like to run the tires tubeless. They will be on stans valor rims.

Thanks i will check out the triggers.

Any other suggestions out there?

Marin

by Marin

I do most of my gravel riding on clincher Open Paves which work really well on gravel roads in Austria and Slovenia because the gravel is rather fine here.

For coarser surfaces you will need wider tires.

Briscoelab

by Briscoelab

Specialized Trigger 33 are excellent.

If you don't want tubeless, Michelin Jet are awesome too.

Small Block 8 are good too.

I prefer a tire with some size knobs... but our gravel is more actual gravel country roads. Other places you could get away with a large slick. For us, we sometimes need a bit more aggressive front tire than a Trigger.

I HATE the large size "gravel tires". ie 38-42mm stuff. Slow and heavy. Our roads can be very burly, level B and level C stuff, totally abandoned, etc. If I needed more tire, I'd step up to something like a Specialized Renegade 1.8. Still light and rolls well.

bikerector

by bikerector