Full-Length cable housing for rear disc brake

Especially for light weight issues concerning cyclocross / touring bikes & parts.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
freeloader
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 5:27 am

by freeloader

Most of the brake cable housings in the market is 1.7m long. I am concerned that it not be long enough as i intended to run it full length to the rear disc brake.

Can anyone suggest compressionless housings that are longer than that?

thisisatest
Shop Owner
Posts: 1980
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 4:02 am
Location: NoVA/DC

by thisisatest

Lots of hydro disc brakes come pre-bled with 1700mm hoses for the rear, so you should be alright.

by Weenie


User avatar
ms6073
Posts: 2370
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Houston, Texas

by ms6073

I have run full length housing for mechanical disc on a couple disc cross frames to include a 57cm Raleigh RXC with Gore RideOn Sealed and Jagwire Hyper/Racer cables and in all instances, cable housing was more than long enough for full length run for the rear brake. The down side though was because I ran full length rear, I had to buy two cable sets as there was not enough housing left over for the front brake from the first set.
Michael - The Anaerobic Threshold is neither...

mjduct
Posts: 662
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 2:19 pm

by mjduct

you looking for cable housing for mechanical disc, or hoses for hydros?

I'm reading it as housing:

You can get Jagwire XLs that have like 3 meters of housing in that kit or something like that designed for big frames/ tandems.

http://jagwire.com/products/v/road_pro_xl

freeloader
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 5:27 am

by freeloader

i am using mechanical disc, specifically Avid BB7 road. i am looking at this offer -

http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-JAGWIRE-HOU ... 1037096233

Not entirely compressionless according to the specs -
*****
High carbon content steel and rigid structural design creates
super-low compression ratio for maximum braking responsiveness
*****

Would not need the shifter housing, as i am running Di2.

mjduct
Posts: 662
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 2:19 pm

by mjduct

sounds like you are good to go.

I'm running mine with Campy Centaur, so I used 2 Campy Rear housings (great conmpressionless housing BTW). the Front one is where I had the length problem.

Beancouter
Posts: 374
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:04 pm

by Beancouter

I have run i-links on my mechanical disc; not done enough miles yet to report on performance ... But looks nice !!!

freeloader
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 5:27 am

by freeloader

Hi Beancouter,

the price is beyond what i would spend...thanks anyway :)

by Weenie


Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post