HOT: Active* forum members generally gain 5% discount at starbike.com store!
Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Articles FAQ Contact About

Go to page 1, 2  Next
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 1:11 am 

I have no experience with Di2 components, but I'm looking into building a wireless Di2 group (probably ultegra) and would appreciate any feedback (especially from an electrical point of view) from anyone that has experience with either of the Di2 groupsets.

First background: I'm getting one of these ( http://www.renovobikes.com/triathlon/ ) in a month and want to build it as clean as humanly possible.

I'm fairly certain that I can bridge the shifters-->derailleurs connection very easily using simple ASK RF communication (prevents cross-talk somewhat like a car remote). From everything I've read the communication between the shifting and the derailleurs, even with the ultegra, is nothing but a high signal passed along.

From the wiring diagram half-way down this page, viewtopic.php?f=10&t=67791&start=285 , I can do away with the junction box entirely. My new plan is:

Code:
RF receiver  <───> Battery
    ║               │
    ║  Control Box──┼─────────┐
    ║               │         │
    ╚═══════════════╪╦═══════╗│
                    FD       RD

With the RF receiver communicating the RD/FD info only. The FD, RD & Control box are connected to the battery and to one-another via the POS line.

The assumption that I'm making with this, that I can't find any verification on, is that the control box plays no role in controlling the shifting. Specific feedback on this assumption, along with any other feedback is appreciated.

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 1:11 am 

PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 3:29 pm 

:popcorn:

PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 6:51 pm 

I googled wireless Di2 and came across this. It's not real clear, but maybe hit these guys up.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eEIvv3MBs_k