HOT: Active* forum members generally gain 5% discount at starbike.com store!
Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Articles FAQ Contact About




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 1:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 12:17 pm
Posts: 353
Location: Melbourne,Australia
Hi Guys,

Just after some help

What are my options for a campy fitted Colnago C59 to add a powermeter

Only options I see are

SRM - great product but very $$$$$

CycleOps - well priced but not a great option for me

_________________
Gloss Black Special Order Colnago C59 with SR and Mavic Cosmic Carbone SLR
Giant TCR Advanced SL Rabobank
Go Cadel


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 1:52 am 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 2:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 10:54 am
Posts: 1396
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Of those currently available, there is also Quarq and P2M...

_________________
http://climbinglama.blogspot.com.au


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 3:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2011 9:46 am
Posts: 14
Hi there,

Although you say the PowerTap is not an option, why? Is it because you have the Bora's and would need a new wheelset rather than have the Bora built with the PT hub?

Another new option is to look at the Garmin Vector power meter (only new to the market) and replace both pedals with Look Keo compatible cleats. These are ANT+ compatible. Not sure when released in Oz or if they are very good.

I have a PT hub on my wet weather bike and if I really wanted power measurement on my C59 I would swap the rear wheel but that would be a hassle and make my C59 heavier - not that desirable. So I set a PB on my wet weather bike and then uses the stats to try for a new PB on my C59 (without power). Since I spent heaps of $'s on the C59 I need to do a better time otherwise I will be feeling a bit unhappy about the expense on the C59 :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 3:45 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 12:29 am
Posts: 142
I have been using the rotor 3d version of the quarq with rotor rings and I could not be happier. If you do choose to get the rotor rings as well make sure you have a good shop install them, I had to shave my front derailer cage to get clearance for the 53 tooth ring.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 3:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 4:51 am
Posts: 1714
As pointed out already.

The Quarg's are probably your best options for both price as well as compatibility. :thumbup:

They are especially good value if you have ANT+ compatible receiver such as those Sony Ericsson phones or even a Garmin. Since you won't need to spend on a separate readings receiver unit.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 10:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 12:17 pm
Posts: 353
Location: Melbourne,Australia
mvacolnago wrote:
I have been using the rotor 3d version of the quarq with rotor rings and I could not be happier. If you do choose to get the rotor rings as well make sure you have a good shop install them, I had to shave my front derailer cage to get clearance for the 53 tooth ring.

Image


nice thanks, what exact model is that and if u don't use the Rotor rings what other options are there?

_________________
Gloss Black Special Order Colnago C59 with SR and Mavic Cosmic Carbone SLR
Giant TCR Advanced SL Rabobank
Go Cadel


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 11:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2003 7:27 pm
Posts: 2508
Location: Manchester, UK
What about the garmin system?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 4:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 1:38 pm
Posts: 570
Location: Greater Pittsburgh
Another vote for the Quarq... I have a Rotor 3D with Rotor Q-Rings on my Campy Record equipped Look 595. You can use standard rings as well of course. The Quarq system is really nice, never drops a signal, I can use any wheel I want (have several depending on the ride, terrain, etc.). I even swapped in between my TT bike and my road bike for a short while (until I upgraded my TT bike to the Look 596, which is using it's proprietary crank).

_________________
"Suddenly the thought struck me; my floor is someone elses ceiling" - Nils Ferlin


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 5:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:56 pm
Posts: 554
Location: Canada
duz10s wrote:
mvacolnago wrote:
I have been using the rotor 3d version of the quarq with rotor rings and I could not be happier. If you do choose to get the rotor rings as well make sure you have a good shop install them, I had to shave my front derailer cage to get clearance for the 53 tooth ring.

Image


nice thanks, what exact model is that and if u don't use the Rotor rings what other options are there?


The 130 bcd rotors will take any rings with the standard 130 bcd pattern, the compact 110 bcd will take standard rings but not the shimano 6700 or 7900 rings. It's all on the quarq.com website.

http://quarq.com/cinqo_rotor


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 5:54 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 12:29 am
Posts: 142
You have to use campy 11 speed rings, there are several options Rotor makes standard round rings, quarq only approved a few brands of rings as stiff enough to give accurate readings, contact them for a current list. I use a garmin 800 as the head unit.

I highlly recommend the rotor rings, it took about 3 weeks to get used to them but there is no going back for me.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 1:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 12:17 pm
Posts: 353
Location: Melbourne,Australia
Thanks gents nearly pressing the go button on a Quarq Rotor 3D crankset

Just saw SRM do a Rotor 3D model, does this not work with campy as its much cheaper than the campy SRM just released?

_________________
Gloss Black Special Order Colnago C59 with SR and Mavic Cosmic Carbone SLR
Giant TCR Advanced SL Rabobank
Go Cadel


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 11:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 6:25 pm
Posts: 1401
It'd work just fine.

One reason it's cheaper than the Campagnolo SRM is that this crank has seperate crank arms and spider from the begining, so it's easier for SRM to make them.

_________________
"Nothing compares to the simple pleasures of a bike ride," said John F. Kennedy, a man who had the pleasure of Marilyn Monroe.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 11:23 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 3:24 pm
Posts: 296
Location: Poland/Cracow
I use Rotor 3D crank with power2max and stronglight ct2 chainrings (10/11 version) with my super record - works great. I've paired it with edge 500.

_________________
Cervelo R3 Team


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 2:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2003 2:25 am
Posts: 4473
Location: Canada
With your Colnago, you have lots and lots of SRM options. Given the conventional bottom bracket, you could use any of the non-proprietary-spindle SRM's. Personally, I would still recommend the old stalwart: the SRM Professional. Other than the Si PowerMeter, the old Pro is still the most accurate version of the SRM.

If you are really budget-conscious, you can probably pick-up a very serviceable, used, wired SRM for under 1K today. That will be a good foray into the world of training with power and will last you many years. With a little work, you can probably run the cables internal and, with rear-wheel speed, it will look almost like a wireless set-up.

Te Campagnolo system is really a piece of art. Even more than the DA 7900 and 7950 series of PowerMeters, it looks completely 'factory'. If you can swing it, that is the prefect SRM for a Campagnolo Group.


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 2:08 pm 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 9:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 8:27 pm
Posts: 266
Location: Location Location!
I've been using my Dura-Ace 7800 crankset with 10 speed for a few years without issue. I suspect 11 speed would work on it just fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Gearhead65, nd2rc, RippedUp, rmerka, TimmS, vtspot and 47 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Campagnolo Power Meter Choice (Vector or Stages with SISL2)

in Road

9x12man

12

1147

Thu Feb 27, 2014 3:24 pm

9x12man View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Can I put a Quarq power meter on my bike

in Road

jspaceman

6

583

Tue Dec 31, 2013 7:50 pm

eric View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Power meter issues + MTB power meter on a roadbike

in Road

AlexJ

3

603

Tue Nov 12, 2013 2:09 pm

Geoff View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. New group set, new power meter?

in Road

naylor343

5

984

Wed Jul 16, 2014 9:57 pm

dunbar42 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. SRM power meter question

in Road

Iamspecialized

2

249

Tue Jul 29, 2014 9:28 pm

Danza View the latest post


It is currently Wed Oct 01, 2014 6:19 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Advertising   –  FAQ   –  Contact   –  Convert   –  About

© Weight Weenies 2000-2013
hosted by starbike.com


How to get rid of these ads? Just register!


Powered by phpBB