veloflex corsa 22 vs. pro3 race - first impressions

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

neeb

by neeb

I've been running Michelin pro3 race for a couple of years now but just fitted a set of veloflex corsa 22s for a change. These are supposedly very high quality, high thread count (320 TPI) tyres.

First impressions on a quick 45 mile run today - on flat surfaces they feel wonderful. It's like you have the silky feel you would get if the tyres were at a lower pressure than they actually are, and yet they still feel taught and fast. Overall speed for the run was very similar to the Pro3s.

However as the ride progressed I found myself not liking the feel in some situations - I got the impression that I was losing energy on certain road surfaces, with the tyres feeling subjectively sticky and a little slow. And when out of the saddle on short, sharp ascents they somehow felt less responsive than the Pro3s.

So I haven't decided yet if I like them better than the pro3s or not. Objectively they seem to be just as fast, but the supple feel seems to be a bonus in some situations but a drag in others.

Wondering if anyone else has extensive experience of both of these tyres and which they prefer.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

Burning Dogma

by Burning Dogma

They should be more comfortable than the Pro 3 and very grippy in corners (the Pro 3 also are), but I doubt they role as nice as the Michelin's. At least according to some tests, Michelin's were just a little bit better, but I can't say if it's a noticeable margin.

neeb

by neeb

That fits.

The veloflexes are brand new of course, I guess that will influence things a bit.

lcoolb

by lcoolb

Have used both Pro3's and Veloflex. The Pro3's roll very well but scared the sh*t out of me in the rain. So ain't using them anymore.