brakes to get

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

jbag011

by jbag011

so i have a caad9 bb30 with centaur. i want to get new brakes i have chorus on there now but they are older and heavy. i was thinking trp 920's for the price they are 260 grams and have ti hardware. i am a bike mechanic and have 15 years experience, i was just curious what everyone thought. i am new to this site. justin

toutenhoofd
Shop Owner

by toutenhoofd

jbag011 wrote:so i have a caad9 bb30 with centaur. i want to get new brakes i have chorus on there now but they are older and heavy. i was thinking trp 920's for the price they are 260 grams and have ti hardware. i am a bike mechanic and have 15 years experience, i was just curious what everyone thought. i am new to this site. justin

I have a set of black TRP 920s, with titanium hardware, on my Cervelo S3 and I love them. I wouldn't say they have quite as much power as my 7900 calipers, but it's pretty close. I think the combination of price, functionality, weight and aesthetics of the TRP 920s can't be beat.

I'd also consider the newly redesigned KCNC brakes. We got some, and they look sturdier and stiffer than the previous model, but I haven't had the time to ride them yet.
www.cyclingtechnology.com
(NOTE: This poster owns a retail business selling weight conscious bike related products.)

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

BmanX

by BmanX