Ritchey Stubby [and Light Alternatives]

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
KWalker
Posts: 5827
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 8:30 pm
Location: Bay Area

by KWalker

Could one put a 3T doric lower mount on one of these lighter option posts? I just don't trust having such a small contact area.
Don't take me too seriously. The only person that doesn't hate Froome.
Gramz
Failed Custom Bike

by Weenie


User avatar
mrowkoob
Posts: 1486
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 7:35 pm
Location: Middle of nowhere, EU

by mrowkoob

Anyone know of a stubby that builds higher than the 70 mm Ritchey stubby?
The unbearable wallet lightness of being a weightweenie

KWalker
Posts: 5827
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 8:30 pm
Location: Bay Area

by KWalker

Just got an email from Guru that said that Ritchey has had a problem with their molds and production on their ISP seatmasts so they are now using Woodmans on all of their new orders.

With that said I ordered the Tune because I need something with Zero Offset and I am going to use my Doric lower cradle. I won't lose as much weight, but I don't really care and I will probably end up painting it flat black because the Tune logo is so damn ugly.
Don't take me too seriously. The only person that doesn't hate Froome.
Gramz
Failed Custom Bike

wezep
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 3:40 pm

by wezep

bcheung wrote:I broke down and ordered the Tune in black, 34.9mm for my Pedal Force CG1. Will report back once it arrives!

Did you already got it?
And....

User avatar
bcheung
Posts: 841
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 2:51 am
Location: Herndon, VA

by bcheung

Yes I got it but haven't had a chance to install it yet!

KWalker
Posts: 5827
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 8:30 pm
Location: Bay Area

by KWalker

Mine comes in 4 days. Using the 3T lower because I have a carbon railed saddle on the way. Anyone have any advice for painting it flat black?
Don't take me too seriously. The only person that doesn't hate Froome.
Gramz
Failed Custom Bike

KWalker
Posts: 5827
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 8:30 pm
Location: Bay Area

by KWalker

R-2 bikes won't have any 30mm caps for 2 weeks or more just an FYI.
Don't take me too seriously. The only person that doesn't hate Froome.
Gramz
Failed Custom Bike

KWalker
Posts: 5827
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 8:30 pm
Location: Bay Area

by KWalker

farm_lim wrote:
playonit wrote:I just inquired about this ISP post from Italy... waiting for weight and inside diameter fit info. quoted 60euro about 90us without shipping....


same ISP clamp as the one that comes with king3.


Can anyone give me any info on this clamp? I would like to know if this would work in my Photon. I hate the Ritchey 1 bolt
Don't take me too seriously. The only person that doesn't hate Froome.
Gramz
Failed Custom Bike

farm_lim
Posts: 373
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 3:58 am
Location: cebu, philippines/ hong kong
Contact:

by farm_lim

KWalker wrote:
farm_lim wrote:same ISP clamp as the one that comes with king3.


Can anyone give me any info on this clamp? I would like to know if this would work in my Photon. I hate the Ritchey 1 bolt


need to drill a hole at the back of the seatmast around 3cm from where you cut. and its heavy, around 140g. sorry wasnt able to take the inside diameter.
Image
you cant buy fitness, but you can buy advantage.

Cento
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 4:00 am

by Cento

Whats is the offset? I'll pay additional $ if 8mm or zero...let me know,,Thanks
HeluvaSkier wrote:I ordered from Adrenaline Bikes. (http://www.adrenalinebikes.com) The website is a little slow and you can only find it on their site by searching all Woodman products, but it is there. I figured $85 isn't bad for the weight (and the fact that I desperately need one!). I'm sure that any shop who can order Woodman products can probably get them.

BTW - I have a 34.9 Ritchey stubby if anyone is interested...

rule5
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:12 am
Location: North Carolina

by rule5

bcheung wrote:Yes I got it but haven't had a chance to install it yet!


Hey man, I actually have a pedal force CG1 as well, and I'm very interested in the tune cappy. I'd love to hear what you've got to say about it and see some pictures. Also where did you order yours from

alexb618
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2009 12:29 am

by alexb618

rebizap wrote:So what is the measured I.D. of the ISP?

Could you take a regular seatpost like a Thompson cut the post domn to 50mm or so, and stick that in the top of isp with a regular seatpost clamp?


i am curious about this also

Cento
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 4:00 am

by Cento

Anyone has the Tune cappy stubby? is there any issues if its installed to a carbon rail saddle?

CippoForLife
Shop Owner
Posts: 1434
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 4:35 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada
Contact:

by CippoForLife

I have one on the way.
I'll let you know within a week.

As a disclaimer, I am the new Tune distributor for Canada 8)

by Weenie


BmanX
Posts: 3844
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 5:31 pm

by BmanX

As a disclaimer, I am the new Tune distributor for Canada


Being a fellow Canadian we need to talk soon.
BIG DADDY B FLOW
AERO & LIGHT is RIGHT

Cervelo SLC 5960g/13.13 lbs

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post