carbon stem cap

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
popawheelie
Posts: 1021
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2002 3:42 pm
Location: in Colorado

by popawheelie

Who has a carbon stem cap?

User avatar
Knut
Posts: 1045
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 7:00 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

by Knut


by Weenie


willf03
Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 10:24 pm

by willf03

FSA makes one too.
Attachments
superstar.jpg


Dellucci
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 6:19 pm

by Dellucci

Hey Popawheelie Giant have one too.....

willy
Posts: 411
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2004 1:23 pm
Location: medellin, colombia/miami, fl

by willy

....and of course, campy!!

number_22
Posts: 113
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2004 2:00 pm

by number_22

I have a Schmolke

User avatar
asphaltdude
Posts: 1234
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2003 8:39 pm
Location: Holland
Contact:

by asphaltdude

I have a Woodman Carbocap
Image

Looks sweet :D
Whow! That's a pretty damn nice garage door!

popawheelie
Posts: 1021
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2002 3:42 pm
Location: in Colorado

by popawheelie

The one I remember seeing was a thin flat disc with a recessed conical bolt through it. Very utilitarian and light looking.
Perhaps it is the Schmolke? I saw it on a german site.
I'm thinking of using a Carbon bolt for it.
I need the site also.
Over the winter I want to try to get under 6 kg
Last edited by popawheelie on Wed Sep 15, 2004 10:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Knut
Posts: 1045
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 7:00 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

by Knut

Should not give any problems with a carbon bolt - since it's only for preloading the headset...

User avatar
Superlite
Posts: 2492
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2003 9:01 pm

by Superlite

Just leave it out, free weight savings. Just get a carbon plug in there instead, I'm doing it on my new bike.

User avatar
MaLóL
Posts: 596
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 4:17 am

by MaLóL

hi:

are those carbon caps really lighter? or is just because of the carbon look?

i use the aluminium carbon cap included with my ritchey wcs headset, and an alu. M6 bolt to adjust the headset.

Any of the carbon caps you showed have an alu bolt, or its a ti or steel bolt?

Can you send pics of the caps in scales or tell us the weights?

thanks
Happy trails !!!!!

User avatar
cadence90
Posts: 1694
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 1:52 am

by cadence90

If your fork stem can take it, you can adjust the headset, set the stem, remove the expander bolt/cap and put in this Schmolke cap. 5g, $40.

I would check compatiblity with your fork. In may case, with an AlphaQ Sub3, Hi-Tech actually recommended against its use.

http://hi-techbikes.com/cgi/display.cgi?SCHM_Carb_Top_Cap

Image
"Gimondi è un eroe umano, che viene sconfitto ma che continua la sua corsa fino a tornare a vincere." - Enrico Ruggeri

User avatar
Superlite
Posts: 2492
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2003 9:01 pm

by Superlite

Thats exactly what I'm putting on my new ride.

by Weenie


User avatar
cadence90
Posts: 1694
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 1:52 am

by cadence90

SL, have you checked to see if it's OK w/the Ritchey fork? I only ask because Hi-Tech were very upfront about the fact that removing the expander assembly (in my case the Sub3) would increase the chance of the stem then potentially crushing the fork stem (the Sub3 has thin walls).
At that weight the Ritchey must be fairly thin too?
They sell the Schmolke cap, but they did say it won't provide much resistance against stem bolts and advised a particular prudence....I guess just be very careful w/the torque.
"Gimondi è un eroe umano, che viene sconfitto ma che continua la sua corsa fino a tornare a vincere." - Enrico Ruggeri

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post