HOT: Active* forum members generally gain 5% discount at starbike.com store!
Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Articles FAQ Contact About

Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: Seat Tube Angles
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 3:23 pm 

Hello,

I was wondering if anyone knows how seat tube angle changes the power or riding charateristics of the frame.
1. I'm currently riding a 74.5 degree seat tube w/ 52cm top tube w/ 71.5 head tube
2. Changing to 74 degree and 52.5 cm top tube w/ 72 head tube
This really should change much?
But with these angles, will thing change a whole lot?
3. 72.5 seat tube, 52.5 top tube, 72.5 head tube?
Looks like a major change in position....but I'm not an expert..help?
worth a try or ?
basically building more of a climb specific bike........IF this amount of info is not enough...Let me know and I'll post what u need....As usual, many thanks.....mr.thi03

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 3:30 pm 

STA = Seat Tube Angle
SH = Saddle Hheight ; distance of center BB to top of saddle
SB = Setback (horizontal distance from top of saddle to center of BB)

SB = cos(STA) * SH

HTA angle obviously does not change the position much, but the handling yes. A shallow HTA steers more sluggish (it moves the front wheel further forward).

The more you move the saddle forwards, or the seat tube angle steeper, the more your body should rotate with it to keep a comfortable position or one where you can generate your power. This means lowering the bars as well.

Post subject:
Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 3:30 pm 

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 3:50 pm 

strobbekoen wrote:
STA = Seat Tube Angle
SH = Saddle Hheight ; distance of center BB to top of saddle
SB = Setback (horizontal distance from top of saddle to center of BB)

SB = cos(STA) * SH