Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Articles FAQ Contact About




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2004 8:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 1:52 am
Posts: 1610
Looks like another eBay scam: Nino's FRM Aero '02.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3687792051&ssPageName=STRK:MEWA:IT
Already contacted eBay.

_________________
"Gimondi è un eroe umano, che viene sconfitto ma che continua la sua corsa fino a tornare a vincere." - Enrico Ruggeri


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 12:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 4:44 pm
Posts: 148
Location: All over Texas
Great job, the user is now been blacklisted!

I looked at the images and wondered why we don't have watermarks on the photos here.

Again, if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is. Before bidding, it would be wise to get a statement of title if the seller demands terms that are non-refundable. I don't know if sellers are padding their ratings with sham sales, then trying to turn a major scam but ratings mean almost nothing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 12:46 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 1:52 am
Posts: 1610
I think watermarking images is a good idea.
It's not to protect those of us who have posted photos (since on a scam auction of course the owner of the bike isn't involved, and the bike isn't for sale anyway, just it's "image"); it's to protect unsuspecting, ill-informed or naive bidders from bidding, winning, paying, and then being ripped off.
I think Light-Bikes is now automatically watermarking images.
Florian, Martin, Frankie, Nikh: is there a way the administrators could put a nice discreet mark on the images posted on this forum? I mean the photos in the Articles section; if people post directly into the forums I guess it's up to them to watermark....

_________________
"Gimondi è un eroe umano, che viene sconfitto ma che continua la sua corsa fino a tornare a vincere." - Enrico Ruggeri


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 6:56 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 7:31 pm
Posts: 531
Location: Stumptown USA
cadence90 wrote:
I think watermarking images is a good idea.
It's not to protect those of us who have posted photos (since on a scam auction of course the owner of the bike isn't involved, and the bike isn't for sale anyway, just it's "image"); it's to protect unsuspecting, ill-informed or naive bidders from bidding, winning, paying, and then being ripped off.
I think Light-Bikes is now automatically watermarking images.
Florian, Martin, Frankie, Nikh: is there a way the administrators could put a nice discreet mark on the images posted on this forum? I mean the photos in the Articles section; if people post directly into the forums I guess it's up to them to watermark....


Yea i just downloaded a watermarker from www.reasoft.com

it works well
all of my pics i post on here will be watermarked now

jeremyb

_________________
PlusOneLap.com: Everything Cyclocross


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 9:34 am 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 8:17 am
Posts: 6381
Location: Drenthe, Holland
You are right cadance. This is quite a big concern to us too. We don't want some fools buying a 200 dollar ultra cool bike and lose those 200 bucks.
But on the other hand, a 200 dollar ultegra/ DA bike with a sub 6 k weight is a bit suspicious...

cadence90 wrote:
I think Light-Bikes is now automatically watermarking images.

The watermarking on the images can be easily cut from the picture if you want to. It's only a "this bike is not for sale" sign that is not placed over the bike. (thats because we want to look at all of the nice details)

cadence90 wrote:
Florian, Martin, Frankie, Nikh: is there a way the administrators could put a nice discreet mark on the images posted on this forum?

Yes there is, and Florian is working on it. But it needs quite a bit of HTML editing. This is why it takes a bit long.
Example: When the picture is called with an eBay referer, it shows a "this is most likely a fraud" image instead.

cadence90 wrote:
I mean the photos in the Articles section; if people post directly into the forums I guess it's up to them to watermark....

Yes it is... But I think that those frauds a way to lazy to search our forums.

_________________
'Tape was made to wrap your GF's gifts, NOT hold a freakin tire on.'

Follow me on twitter. I try to be interesting ;)
On Facebook!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Butcher, Google [Bot], jepd1973, Majestic-12 [Bot], Mario Jr. and 80 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Aero or Nero (not aero) ? (New bike frame)

[ Go to page: 1, 2 ]

in Road

stang1

29

1639

Thu Apr 18, 2013 6:36 pm

Kayrehn View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Attachment(s) Aero frame with non-aero wheelsets ??

[ Go to page: 1, 2 ]

in Road

donham1

19

1960

Thu Jun 28, 2012 9:48 am

journeymonk View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. CORIMA AERO or AERO+?

in Road

Praha19300

2

504

Sun Dec 30, 2012 6:47 pm

kgt View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. eBay hubs

in Road

quaman26

1

315

Fri Jun 15, 2012 3:48 pm

prendrefeu View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Taiwan Hub on ebay

in Road

WinterRider

5

300

Sun Feb 17, 2013 4:34 pm

WinterRider View the latest post


It is currently Wed May 22, 2013 2:38 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Advertising   –  FAQ   –  Contact   –  Convert   –  About

© Weight Weenies 2000-2013
hosted by starbike.com


How to get rid of these ads? Just register!


Powered by phpBB