Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About
It is currently Sat Apr 30, 2016 11:56 pm
Recently the board software has been updated and there are some known bugs/failures:
- Avatars are currently not being displayed
- Tapatalk connection is currently broken

Those bugs will be fixed ASAP (next few days) as they are unfortunately more serious than expected.

If you find more errors please post it here: http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=139062


All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2004 10:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2004 12:32 pm
Posts: 3689
Location: HULLGARIA UK
I'm sure it's been mentioned before, but will the 10 speed campag casette work with the new 10 speed Dura Ace drivertrain? i.e., Rear Mech and STI levers.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2004 10:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2002 1:59 am
Posts: 1386
Location: Sydney, Australia
I was told that it doesn't.
They are not as compatible as the 9sp was. I was looking to save some $ too :cry:

Brian


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2004 10:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 27, 2004 7:13 am
Posts: 2169
Location: Finland
Yes they will work but Campa cassette will not fit in D-A hub as you may know.

I have Ultra Record in my road bike and "history of D-A" in my TT-bike. Works well.

TT bike:
-bar endsifters 10s.
-rear/front der. 9s.
-bigger ring 9s D-A 54 TT
-smaller ring 42 8s D-A
-chain is UD-C10, Record 10s.
-cranks 8s D-A with Chorus BB.

Wheels use 10s Campa cassettes.

_________________
Samu @ www.signature.fi


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2004 11:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2002 1:59 am
Posts: 1386
Location: Sydney, Australia
I got the opposite response in this thread http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2075

However the campy cassettes are much cheaper.
I'm using my chain whip at the moment :wink:

Brian


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2004 11:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2003 8:39 pm
Posts: 1234
Location: Holland
Ah.... next year Shimano will bring out 10 speed Ultegra I hope....

_________________
Whow! That's a pretty damn nice garage door!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2004 4:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2004 12:32 pm
Posts: 3689
Location: HULLGARIA UK
I would do what Francois Viviers said in a previous thread.
I have a bike already with Campag 10 speed throughout and a 13-29 cassette. I'm thinking of putting another bike together with Dura Ace 10 speed (rear mech, front mech, STI levers) and an FSA compact chainset 50 x 34.
The reason for my original question is that I just want to swap wheels around for whichever bike I want to ride, be it campag or shimano equipped. I don't want to mess around changing chains or cassettes.
I'm aware that the Shimano cassette is 12-27 max., but experience tells me that it's not necessary to have long cage rear mechs etc, there's always a comfort zone. I've even ridden 30 x 26 on a short cage campag rear mech with absolutely no loss of performance.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Exabot [Bot], RussellS, Synnove and 37 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited