Somewhat Urgent - Is this spindle worn?

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

themidge

by themidge

The title pretty much says it all. I'm piecing together a cannnondale hollowgram crankset (spindle+arms+spider etc.) and can pick up this spindle for a pretty good price. My question is is it worn? The description says it's "used but in good condition" but I have little experience with this kind of thing. It looks like it might be a little worn to me, but hopefully someone can enlighten me. :D
Thanks,
TheMidge
Last edited by themidge on Sun Feb 18, 2018 12:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

Calnago
In Memoriam

by Calnago

It is worn and in terrible condition. Like throw away condition.
What size spindle are you looking for?... the 104mm with the flange, or the 109mm without the flange. Or the SRM 104mm version with flange, but milled down a bit. I know I have one lying around, I think it's the standard 104mm version.
Colnago C64 - The Naked Build; Colnago C60 - PR99; Trek Koppenberg - Where Emonda and Domane Meet;
Unlinked Builds (searchable): Colnago C59 - 5 Years Later; Trek Emonda SL Campagnolo SR; Special Colnago EPQ

themidge

by themidge

I think I need a regular 104mm spindle, maybe. It'd be for a regular 68mm Cannondale BB30 with the regular spider (for attaching chainrings) which I think is narrower than the SpideRing. Thanks for the offer, but IIRC you're in the US. I'd rather shop within the UK/Europe to avoid the whole customs madness, these come up fairly regularly and I'm in no great rush in piecing together this crankset.

hambini

by hambini

If you have hardened bearings against an aluminium axle it is going to leave track marks on the surface.