Quarq Dzero w. Campagnolo, chainline question

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
Post Reply
r4nd0mv4r14bl3
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 9:26 am

by r4nd0mv4r14bl3

Would appreciate some advice on the compatibility of the current Quarq Dzero GXP carbon crank powermeter with Campagnolo Ch, R or SR drivetrain.

Campag chainline is documented as 43.5mm while for the Quarq sources indicate 45mm. Does this imply that chainrings on the Quarq will be pushed 1.5mm outward compared to Campag?

Is this something that could cause issues depending on the frame and chainstay length? I am having in mind a combination of Campa mechanical non-disc with Quarq+Praxis rings on a frame with 409mm chainstay.

Thanks for your attention

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk


by Weenie


c60rider
Posts: 139
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 11:12 pm

by c60rider

I've been running the previous quarq sram red 10 speed power meter on campagnolo 11 speed for nearly 5 years and the only issue slightly was front changing onto the big ring wasn't as smooth and occasionally dropping it onto the small ring it would drop straight off but a chain catcher solved that one. Otherwise it's never caused me a problem and I swap it in between my winter bike and indoor training bike. If you haven't bought the dzero yet then I would try to go Campag chainrings so you'd be limited to power2max or used SRM but I have the NG version and it's been fantastic and I would say worth the extra over the Quarq. I've also bought a Campag stages that I'm using but I'm undecided on that as the battery is lasting less than 10 hours before needing to be replaced so I'll be contacting Stages about that one. Even though that's less than half the price of a P2M.

moonoi
Posts: 377
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2015 3:04 pm

by moonoi

I had the Quarq Red DZero with my otherwise Campagnolo SR drivetrain on my C60 And had nothing but chainline issues with it rubbing on the cage the front derailleur, or dropping the chain, in the end I gave up and sold it. Replaced with an SR crank and a Stages PM which shifted perfectly.

Chainstay length for my C60 was 412

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk



User avatar
havana
Posts: 341
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 5:04 pm

by havana

Ik run a Quarq DZero with Potenza; it's works perfectly. No issues there.
Most "innovations" in cycling are solutions for non-existing problems.

r4nd0mv4r14bl3
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 9:26 am

by r4nd0mv4r14bl3

c60rider wrote:I've been running the previous quarq sram red 10 speed power meter on campagnolo 11 speed for nearly 5 years and the only issue slightly was front changing onto the big ring wasn't as smooth and occasionally dropping it onto the small ring it would drop straight off but a chain catcher solved that one. Otherwise it's never caused me a problem and I swap it in between my winter bike and indoor training bike. If you haven't bought the dzero yet then I would try to go Campag chainrings so you'd be limited to power2max or used SRM but I have the NG version and it's been fantastic and I would say worth the extra over the Quarq. I've also bought a Campag stages that I'm using but I'm undecided on that as the battery is lasting less than 10 hours before needing to be replaced so I'll be contacting Stages about that one. Even though that's less than half the price of a P2M.
Thanks for sharing your experience. I am also thinking about p2m but the cost is almost double of the Quarq.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk


r4nd0mv4r14bl3
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 9:26 am

by r4nd0mv4r14bl3

moonoi wrote:I had the Quarq Red DZero with my otherwise Campagnolo SR drivetrain on my C60 And had nothing but chainline issues with it rubbing on the cage the front derailleur, or dropping the chain, in the end I gave up and sold it. Replaced with an SR crank and a Stages PM which shifted perfectly.

Chainstay length for my C60 was 412

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
Thanks for the comment. Did you use the Quarq Red with Sram chainrings?

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk


moonoi
Posts: 377
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2015 3:04 pm

by moonoi

Yes I did

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk


by Weenie


Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post