Computer mount and light fitting

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
Post Reply
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:43 pm

by matty

Just wondering if anyone is using anything like a barfly for light fitting and how they find it.

I have a barfly sli and think I need to purchase an adapter for fitting a light. The extra fitting is not much less than the barfly max which comes with everything needed.

Not sure how the barfly works with a light as find it a little loose with the mio 315 attached.

Just read about cycliq mount and was wondering what people on here use and what works.

Thinking of mounting an exposure strada.

Need to get back on my bike following a spell of depression meaning I didn’t want to do anything. I went down to 75Kg due to no interest in eating and not sleeping. Now at 90kg through medication I need to get back on my bike hence the need for light mount this time of year.....

by Weenie

Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2016 4:18 pm

by bremerradkurier

Plenty of stem bolt mounts out there with over/under mounting for computers and lights. ... autifyAB=0

User avatar
ALAN Carbon+
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 9:21 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

by ALAN Carbon+

I use the barfly max on two of my bikes and fouriers mounts on another two all paired with a light and motion urban 850 light. The light and motion lights come with a GoPro adaptor but they are able to be bought separately.

What do you mean about a bit loose with your mio computer? There is a small difference in the lug shape between Garmin and Mio/Magellan computers. You can buy a specific barfly insert for the Mio which gives a nice solid fit ( I have a cyclo500). Using a Garmin specific mount might be a bit hit and miss it terms of a nice tight fit.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5000 using Tapatalk

Posts: 69
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:43 pm

by matty

By loose i meant the clamp at the bar but guess I was worried over tightening on carbon bars. That and the fact I think they make mount for 35mm bars so there is padding material to pad out to a 31.8mm bar and perhaps I haven’t squeezed that enough for a tighter fit.

Think the sli bam light mount is just bungee cords and not sure of max diameter. I may as well buy a max including light mount for the cost of light mount by itself.

Posts: 1039
Joined: Sat May 26, 2012 11:26 pm

by NiFTY

I think the go pro mount is bit slow if removing lights regularly. I made a 1/4 gurn mount got my exposure diablo using a 1/4 turn mount adapter for a 705 and the helmet mount that came with my light. I set it to point in the right direction when mounted horizontal and glued it at that angle.

I have 3 mounts i use the light on. 1 is a fetha outfront. It has 4 drilled holes so just install another garmin insert on the undersurface and you are good to go. The other 2 i made myself with carbon plate.
Evo 5.02kg SL3 6.77 Slice RS 8.89 viewtopic.php?f=10&t=110579" onclick=";return false;" onclick=";return false;

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Last post