Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About Impressum
It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 6:38 am

All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Caad9 rebuild
PostPosted: Mon Sep 18, 2017 8:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2017 8:27 am
Posts: 4
Hi all, as a long time lurker and owner of 52mm caad9 for 9 years, I'm a big fan of the caad ww threads.

I'm having a crack myself and have just got an uncut enve 2 fork on the bay. It'll be replacing the premium, and I just wondered if anyone could advise on the headset - the current one seems fine and smooth - can I just take it off the old forks and put it on the new, or does the different rake angle (43 vs 45) prevent me from doing this?
Do I need special tools to remove / install headset?

Many thanks

Current set up, with dura ace c24s, which have deteriorated over the last 8 years, Original ultegra sl, Thompson stem and seatpost.
I'll be adding a 6800 groupset and ksyrium sls also.

Incidentally, will 6800 cranks fit on the pre BB30 bottom bracket spindles?

Thanks

Image

Edit: I'm considering a new lick of paint as the frames looking a little worse for wear (though original scheme is nice) - any recommendations for powder coaters in London?


Last edited by calv1n on Mon Sep 18, 2017 8:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Caad9 rebuild
PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 11:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 10:24 am
Posts: 78
calv1n wrote:
can I just take it off the old forks and put it on the new, or does the different rake angle (43 vs 45) prevent me from doing this?
Do I need special tools to remove / install headset

you should be fine, it will fit but it might change the handling a bit.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Caad9 rebuild
Posted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 11:19 am 


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Caad9 rebuild
PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 8:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 2:35 am
Posts: 775
I'm not sure what you mean by BB30 spindles, but Ultegra cranks have a built in spindle.

If you have a BB installed that already works with the 6600 crank in the picture, then yes, that BB will work with 6800 cranks.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 2old4this, em3, Mike V, Spooger, wheelbuilder and 44 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited