Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About Impressum
It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 1:12 pm

All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 2:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 9:16 am
Posts: 1429
jimmyduc wrote:
Setting up new Campy V3 EPS SR, everything is fine except one of the firmware downloads (for the power unit) wont complete. I keep getting an error code. It shows updated firmware available for download, but wont let me complete it.

Ive reset Campy EPS with magnet. Re-paired bluetooth, re-installed mycampy app, made sure iphone6 software uptodate. Any ideas?


Not to poke fun at you but this underlined section........ :D
I feel like I have lived too long or something to see such posts as this.

To deal with shifting a bicycle :lol: :lol:

Then post by jjde who quotes Camy Service as saying
"R&D is currently striving to sort out this problem, peculiarly suffered on certain android mobiles.
Have you switched off and on the system after having updated the other two firmwares?"


Good night.....I mean yes I am old I guess having ridden for 30 years but I am also tech savy having in my life been a Systems administrator of
a Unix system... but who would have ever thought this would be a tech discussion to get a bicycle shifting :D :D

Good Luck :thumbup:


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 5:00 pm 
Offline
in the industry

Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 7:25 pm
Posts: 3226
Location: Glermsford, Suffolk U.K
Fortunatley my shop android works with eps 3. I dont thinks tgis can all be put down to campagnolo. There are far foo many update to phone software and too many versions of andriod making this a nightmare. I had to sell my wahoo because even though the app installed on my phone it would not connect to the wahoo. The app would not even install on my tablet.

Also the eps can be used without the app.

Why does anyone need to control there garmin with the mode button. I know it it is one of the functions. All i want my eps to do is change gear. It does that so i am happy.

Personally i think campagnolo and shimano are trying to build in too many functions. There are just too many things i can set with eps and di2 for that matter. All it needs to do is change gear. This is all consumor driven. If we did not want bikes where we need our phone to get it to work then there would be no problem. You can blame campagnolo but really it is our fault for wanting this kind of tech that we dont need in the first place.

_________________
www.thecycleclinic.co.uk


Top
   
Posted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 5:00 pm 


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 7:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2015 9:34 pm
Posts: 36
And there I was, about to take the plunge on electronic (most likely eTap as I just think wireless is the way forward) and then threads like this conjure up nightmare scenarios of electrickery not working.

Doesn't fill me with confidence as a potential first-time electronic buyer.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 9:10 pm 
Offline
Tinker, Taylor, Tart

Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2008 8:00 pm
Posts: 1966
Location: Sydney, Aus.
bm0p700f wrote:
Personally i think campagnolo and shimano are trying to build in too many functions. There are just too many things i can set with eps and di2 for that matter. All it needs to do is change gear.

Couldn't agree more; and this is exactly why eTap is as good as it is - one button each side, no app. It just changes gears. Simple.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 9:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 10, 2015 5:07 pm
Posts: 21
RichTheRoadie wrote:
bm0p700f wrote:
Personally i think campagnolo and shimano are trying to build in too many functions. There are just too many things i can set with eps and di2 for that matter. All it needs to do is change gear.

Couldn't agree more; and this is exactly why eTap is as good as it is - one button each side, no app. It just changes gears. Simple.
You don't need the app at all... EPS works fine (ie shifts gears as.advertised) out of the box without a phone / app ever having been connected.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 10:30 pm 
Offline
Tinker, Taylor, Tart

Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2008 8:00 pm
Posts: 1966
Location: Sydney, Aus.
True, but there's still 3 buttons on each side.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 18, 2017 5:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 6:33 pm
Posts: 320
RichTheRoadie wrote:
True, but there's still 3 buttons on each side.


you can all but ignore the 3rd button if all you want to do is ride. the other 2 are standard shift buttons.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 18, 2017 5:41 am 
Offline
Tinker, Taylor, Tart

Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2008 8:00 pm
Posts: 1966
Location: Sydney, Aus.
Yes, I get it. I currently have EPS on my bike after all.

It's the principle, though; and there's no changing the fact that the cleanest and simplest way to shift electronically is eTap - especially when you factor in the wires too.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 5:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 3:20 pm
Posts: 4
Hello,

The problem is solved for me since MyCampy update 1.6.6 received on Saturday 23/09 (Android Galaxy S8)

Be carreful campy has delivered two consecutive updates, 1.6.5 has created an additional bug ....

Jean Jacques


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. SRM PC8 Firmware 2.5.6 User experiences

in Road

MichaelR671

4

666

Mon Mar 20, 2017 9:33 pm

topflightpro View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. MyCampy App crash after firmware update

in Road

tadrums

2

564

Sat Dec 24, 2016 2:07 am

tadrums View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Garmin 520 Firmware Update 12.1 and eTap

in Road

TarugoKing

10

886

Tue Aug 01, 2017 3:23 pm

wheelbuilder View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Attachment(s) Campagnolo 11 speed using 34/50x11/36! Yes it can be done with PRE-2015 Athena LC Big Gears on Campagnolo 11 speed

in Road

colnagoaddict

12

847

Mon Aug 28, 2017 12:26 am

c50jim View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Questions on Campagnolo EPS

in Road

mlok

12

1194

Fri Oct 20, 2017 9:15 pm

avispa View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: angrylegs, Bing [Bot], joe1234, Yahoo [Bot], zirxo and 40 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited