Buying the right shoes... for my bony feet.

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

Tommo

by Tommo

I'm relatively new to the road cycling game and after 18 months of riding I'm looking to purchase another set of shoes to replace the Mavic Galibiers I'm currently using. I've got on ok with them but have been noticing that there is quite a bit of movement in the toe box due to my bony (and narrow) feet. I did upgrade to a set on Bonty insoles after a Trek precision bikefit but these only helped the volume issue slightly. I'd like a better heel fit too, this has also been prone to movement when working on the negative phase of pedal stroke when using my hamstrings.

Can anyone one recommend shoes for narrow skinny feet? And would it be worth getting a custom insole molded? I will be trying various on but if I could narrow down the possibilities that would be a helpful start.

Cheers all :D

wingguy

by wingguy

Mavics are usually pretty good for narrow feet. Are you sure the shoes aren't just sized too big? Otherwise Sidi would be worth a look. Good adjustable heel cup too.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

uraqt

by uraqt

I know everyone is sick of me saying this, and I am not the biggest sidi fanboy here....however... get one of the top models sidis and they should be the last pair of shoes you buy. The sidi last is the best and I am 100% any foot can fit in it. : ) It may take a lot of time, trial and error and customization but in the end it's all worth it because just the best built shoe. period

C

IMO

Tommo

by Tommo