Tubeless tire questions

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

eyedrop

by eyedrop

Ive been curious about some Stans wheels that are tubeless compatible. Ive had tubeless on my MTB for a couple months, and the only flat I had was from the bike sitting. The tire totally came off the bead. Because Im a noob, I brought it into the shop. Turns out I need a special pump..

How often do you flat on road tubeless? Are pinch style flats still possible, where the bead breaks from hard impact and lets the air out?

Can I get away with leaving the tubes at home for my normal club/training rides? I do always have the cell phone for the 0.2% chance I get a flat. Or is that an accurate number?

Id say with my normal tubed setup in my area, its about 5-10% chance of flat in a typical 2 hour ride. So maybe once or twice a month...

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

justaute

by justaute

My 2 cents. FWIW...I'm ~6'1" and 210 lbs.

I've been tubeless, road/mtb/cx/gravel, for the last three years. For road, I've had a total of 4 flats, and was able to continue riding 3 times. 2 of the 3 times I "heard" the flat, and the last one I didn't know until I got back to the car. The one time I couldn't get home was because of low/no sealant as I had forgotten to refill -- had been 3 or 4 months, I think. I never take spare tubes on the ride, but do carry CO2 and patches.

In short, I'm pretty sure you can get away with not carrying spare tubes, but it's still a good idea. All 4 of my flats were cuts from running over debris/glass/nail. Never had a pinch-flat. Never burped on the road -- a combination of high pressure and proper tubeless rims with some type of anti-burp bump. My rides are usually between 30-50 miles.

Oh...I still don't carry spares. Just have a few tools in the back pockets. :) YMMV.