Garmin releasing a new Edge computer soon?

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
p3dalfaster
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:22 am

by p3dalfaster

I am using edge 520 with a Mac. what kind of problems you have? I have a perfect connection.


So for example yesterday, I came home, plugged it in to the Mac, and it literally sits there for 5 minutes and isn't picked up by Garmin Express. I then remove the Garmin, close software, re-launch software, re-attacah Garmin and it does the same thing.... I tried again and a few mins later and it worked :noidea:

kulivontot
Posts: 1170
Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 7:28 pm

by kulivontot

Does nobody use the Bluetooth sync on the app? I figured that'd would remove the need to plug in

by Weenie


FIJIGabe
Posts: 1382
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 6:07 pm
Location: The Lone Star State

by FIJIGabe

Yeah, I use it on my 520, and previously, on my 810. It's great, especially when you're on vacation, as it eliminates the need to connect to a computer to upload. The process has gone through some teething, particularly during the early days of the 810, when the upload wouldn't work consistently. Nowadays, however, it works pretty effortlessly.
Madone 9 https://goo.gl/7UwZpV
Crockett https://goo.gl/f5PdCN
Madone 5 https://goo.gl/cMdyFo

Madone 4, Cobia. I own a lot of Treks.

SpecializedColnago
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 11:33 pm

by SpecializedColnago

madik wrote:1030 is expected to be released during next 2 months.


Do you have a reliable source for that 2 month release date?

caadbrad
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 12:55 am

by caadbrad

I haven't heard anything new from Garmin, and it's going to take a significant update from Garmin in both software and hardware to convince me to try anything different than my Wahoo Elemnt Bolt now. I had an Edge 510 before hand and got fed up with the locked up/Frozen save screens, shoddy updates and corrupt files. I love the Bolt, it's worked perfectly so far this season and looks great.

User avatar
53x12
Posts: 3762
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2006 6:02 am
Location: On the bike

by 53x12

caadbrad wrote:I haven't heard anything new from Garmin, and it's going to take a significant update from Garmin in both software and hardware to convince me to try anything different than my Wahoo Elemnt Bolt now. I had an Edge 510 before hand and got fed up with the locked up/Frozen save screens, shoddy updates and corrupt files. I love the Bolt, it's worked perfectly so far this season and looks great.


Same exact story for me with my 510 and my experience with the Bolt. Would take a whole paradigm shift for me to try a Garmin device again.
"Marginal gains are the only gains when all that's left to gain is in the margins."

Noctiluxx
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 7:17 pm
Location: Southern California

by Noctiluxx

1030? Thats the name the marketing department came up with?
2018 Bianchi Oltre XR4, (Celeste Matt)
2017 Giant TCR Advanced SL (Red)
2016 Specialized Allez DSW Sprint (Gold)
2016 Giant Anthem Advanced SX (FS)
2018 Trek Farley EX 9.8 Fatty (FS)
2017 Giant Toughroad (rigid 29er)

fromtrektocolnago
Posts: 979
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 10:15 pm

by fromtrektocolnago

Noctiluxx wrote:1030? Thats the name the marketing department came up with?


sounds like a tax form
Colnago C-59 (Dura Ace)
Firefly(Ultegra)
Trek 5200(ultegra)

fromtrektocolnago
Posts: 979
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 10:15 pm

by fromtrektocolnago

kulivontot wrote:Does nobody use the Bluetooth sync on the app? I figured that'd would remove the need to plug in


I started using blue tooth two years ago and haven't gone back. if there's a criticism is that i still need to use a cable when loading a new route to follow.
Colnago C-59 (Dura Ace)
Firefly(Ultegra)
Trek 5200(ultegra)

rapsac
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2014 7:35 am

by rapsac

fromtrektocolnago wrote:
kulivontot wrote:Does nobody use the Bluetooth sync on the app? I figured that'd would remove the need to plug in


I started using blue tooth two years ago and haven't gone back. if there's a criticism is that i still need to use a cable when loading a new route to follow.

Routecourse from dynamic watch iQ app.

jeffy
Posts: 1242
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 11:51 pm

by jeffy

if you have a route created (from pc) on Garmin Connect. The route can be sent to device via bluetooth using the iOS App.

kode54
Posts: 1102
Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 9:39 pm

by kode54

p3dalfaster wrote:
I am using edge 520 with a Mac. what kind of problems you have? I have a perfect connection.


So for example yesterday, I came home, plugged it in to the Mac, and it literally sits there for 5 minutes and isn't picked up by Garmin Express. I then remove the Garmin, close software, re-launch software, re-attacah Garmin and it does the same thing.... I tried again and a few mins later and it worked :noidea:

Sounds like you need to update firmware and or software on the Garmin and or Mac app Garmin Express.
- AX Lightness Vial EVO D + DA9070 + Enve SES 3.4 carbon hubs
- Parlee Altum + DA9150 + Enve SES 4.5 carbon hubs
- Parlee ESX + DA9070 + THM SRM PM + Enve SES 6.7 CK hubs
- Independent Fabrication Ti FLW + Campy SR11 + Enve 3.4 CK hubs

eaglejackson
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 5:26 am
Location: PNW

by eaglejackson

53x12 wrote:
caadbrad wrote:I haven't heard anything new from Garmin, and it's going to take a significant update from Garmin in both software and hardware to convince me to try anything different than my Wahoo Elemnt Bolt now. I had an Edge 510 before hand and got fed up with the locked up/Frozen save screens, shoddy updates and corrupt files. I love the Bolt, it's worked perfectly so far this season and looks great.


Same exact story for me with my 510 and my experience with the Bolt. Would take a whole paradigm shift for me to try a Garmin device again.

Same here. I had a 510, 520, and 820. I'm now using a Bolt and hard to see going back to Garmin.

Too many times my Garmins didn't capture the ride right, froze on updates (bricked a few times), pain to get routes installed, and overall poor software quality. I liked the features of the 820 but hated the touchscreen.

I've had no issues with the Bolt. The buttons are well designed and work great.

spdntrxi
Posts: 1305
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 6:11 pm

by spdntrxi

p3dalfaster wrote:
I am using edge 520 with a Mac. what kind of problems you have? I have a perfect connection.


So for example yesterday, I came home, plugged it in to the Mac, and it literally sits there for 5 minutes and isn't picked up by Garmin Express. I then remove the Garmin, close software, re-launch software, re-attacah Garmin and it does the same thing.... I tried again and a few mins later and it worked :noidea:


For me... my garmin likes a particular USB cable... I don't even know where the original is anymore, but my garmin likes the one I'm using now. If I use an extra long one or one of the many others I have laying around I get iffy connections.

by Weenie


User avatar
mpulsiv
Posts: 1016
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 9:17 pm

by mpulsiv

I'm still using Edge 500. Not a single issue in last 4 years. If I ever upgrade it will be Bolt but then again Edge 500 does everything I need. It's small and light. Side-by-side, Bolt looks massive.

Edge 510, 520 and 800 series are all half-baked due to release schedule. What is it now? New unit every 18 months? Garmin software engineers dedicate ~ 9 months of development, punt all bugs reported by users, then move on to development of new unit.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Racing is a three-dimensional high-speed chess game, involving hundreds of pieces on the board.

:arrow: CBA = Chronic Bike Addiction
:arrow: OCD = Obsessive Cycling Disorder

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post