Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About Impressum
It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:33 am

All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2017 6:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 3:43 pm
Posts: 14
Hi,

After having ridden on Campy V3 EPS for a while now, I do notice something which I am not sure if it is a features for EPS.

I realised that if my rear mech is in one of the 1st 3 smallest cogs and when i try to shift my front from the small chainring to the larger , there seems to be a 2 step movement. Meaning the front derailleur first move close to the chain before pushing it to the larger chainring. And this happen when your rear mech is in one of the 1st 3 smallest cogs.

Not sure if any EPS user here notice the same?

Hope to keep this channel answering EPS related questions for everyone. :welcome:


Top
   
Posted: Sat Jul 08, 2017 6:18 pm 


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2017 9:08 pm 
Offline
Shop Owner / Manufacturer

Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 12:21 pm
Posts: 267
Location: UK
mlok wrote:
Hi,

After having ridden on Campy V3 EPS for a while now, I do notice something which I am not sure if it is a features for EPS.

I realised that if my rear mech is in one of the 1st 3 smallest cogs and when i try to shift my front from the small chainring to the larger , there seems to be a 2 step movement. Meaning the front derailleur first move close to the chain before pushing it to the larger chainring. And this happen when your rear mech is in one of the 1st 3 smallest cogs.

Not sure if any EPS user here notice the same?

Hope to keep this channel answering EPS related questions for everyone. :welcome:


It's a good thought ... but wherever possible, it's better that people visit their Campagnolo ProShop, to be honest ... the ProShops should be right up to date with the latest information from the factory and whilst I do answer questions here, as do some of my colleagues from other parts of Campagnolo or from ProShops, it's always strongly preferable to have the bike available - it's very hard be a "remote bike mechanic" ... 9 times out of 10, it's easier to see the problem than to respond to a query on a forum.

In your case, if the bike has been in one of those three sprockets for some time, do you still get the two-step movement, or does this only occur shortly after you have shifted from sprocket 7 to sprocket 8 (counting the smallest as "sprocket 1" and the biggest as "sprocket 11") - so making arear shift and a front shift in quick succession?

Does the system do it in all shift settings, or only when set up in "Race", so the straight out of the box set-up?

Does the system do it if you put the system into Shift Assist?

Does the system do it in all Shift modes Hard, Medium and Soft?

_________________
A Tech-Reps work is never done ...
Head Tech, Campagnolo main UK ASC


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2017 6:55 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 6:47 am
Posts: 1000
Location: Albuquerque, NM
That is called shift assist. It is one of the modes you can adjust with my campy app. You can turn it off, or have it make 2 or 3 gear changes. It is meant to help you get back to the same cadence you were at before you went from big ring to small or vice versa. If it bothers you, simply disable shift assist.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2017 6:58 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 6:47 am
Posts: 1000
Location: Albuquerque, NM
graeme_f_k wrote:
mlok wrote:
Hi,

After having ridden on Campy V3 EPS for a while now, I do notice something which I am not sure if it is a features for EPS.

I realised that if my rear mech is in one of the 1st 3 smallest cogs and when i try to shift my front from the small chainring to the larger , there seems to be a 2 step movement. Meaning the front derailleur first move close to the chain before pushing it to the larger chainring. And this happen when your rear mech is in one of the 1st 3 smallest cogs.

Not sure if any EPS user here notice the same?

Hope to keep this channel answering EPS related questions for everyone. :welcome:


It's a good thought ... but wherever possible, it's better that people visit their Campagnolo ProShop, to be honest ... the ProShops should be right up to date with the latest information from the factory and whilst I do answer questions here, as do some of my colleagues from other parts of Campagnolo or from ProShops, it's always strongly preferable to have the bike available - it's very hard be a "remote bike mechanic" ... 9 times out of 10, it's easier to see the problem than to respond to a query on a forum.

In your case, if the bike has been in one of those three sprockets for some time, do you still get the two-step movement, or does this only occur shortly after you have shifted from sprocket 7 to sprocket 8 (counting the smallest as "sprocket 1" and the biggest as "sprocket 11") - so making arear shift and a front shift in quick succession?

Does the system do it in all shift settings, or only when set up in "Race", so the straight out of the box set-up?

Does the system do it if you put the system into Shift Assist?

Does the system do it in all Shift modes Hard, Medium and Soft?


I went to a ProShop last week to have a 11-speed chain installed. He clearly had zero idea of actual installation because he had taken the pins that hold the chain in place off, tried to press the pin in from right to left, then wanted to argue with me about there being no need to peen the pin after it is put in. Needless to say, by campy chain tool came in the mail today. I have one ProShop in a town of nearly 400,000 people. No time to mess around with shoddy work like that.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 4:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 2:36 am
Posts: 105
spookyload wrote:
I went to a ProShop last week to have a 11-speed chain installed. He clearly had zero idea of actual installation because he had taken the pins that hold the chain in place off, tried to press the pin in from right to left, then wanted to argue with me about there being no need to peen the pin after it is put in. Needless to say, by campy chain tool came in the mail today. I have one ProShop in a town of nearly 400,000 people. No time to mess around with shoddy work like that.


Wow! You should call Campy and tell them about your experience. That is not the behavior of ANY Pro Shop! Besides, remember the fact that because a shop has the Campy ProShop designation, it does not mean that every mechanic is certified on Campy. I heard a story of a guy that brought a Campy 11 speed chain from a local shop. The shop threw away the chain box with the Campy pin, just to install a SRAM pin on the chain! The owner of the bike almost had an accident when the chain snapped...

If you have only one pro shop in a town of 400K, I'd try to learn to do things yourself, I have had to. It's very rewarding and nice to know you know everything about your bike!

..A..


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 8:07 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 6:47 am
Posts: 1000
Location: Albuquerque, NM
I absolutely do things myself normally, but the Campy 11 chain tool is a big pill to swallow. I own one now, and it is known around town to come to me if you need a campy chain tool to use.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 11:30 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 7:10 am
Posts: 293
Huh, so Campy chains aren't compatible with quick links? Strange cuz every other brand chain is compatible with every other brand quick link.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 6:50 pm
Posts: 225
Location: Wilmington, DE
Lelandjt wrote:
Huh, so Campy chains aren't compatible with quick links? Strange cuz every other brand chain is compatible with every other brand quick link.


Even if they aren't 'officially' compatible, I'm running a SRAM quick link on my Chorus 11 speed chain with no issues.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 3:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 7:10 am
Posts: 293
Okay, that's what I thought. The idea that a quick link explodes when installed on a Campy chain sounded fishy.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 12:28 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 11:38 pm
Posts: 299
Location: England, occiasionally Flanders.
I've been using campag chains with KMC quick links since they have been on the market with zero issues. I was sceptical at first (it's a SRAM idea for starters), but my worries were unfounded.

_________________
If the grand tours are like classical music, kermesse racing is punkrock, Belgian style.
Colnago C50, Campag SR11


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2017 9:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 2:36 am
Posts: 105
Lelandjt wrote:
Huh, so Campy chains aren't compatible with quick links? Strange cuz every other brand chain is compatible with every other brand quick link.


At one point I used an IRD quick-link and my chain started skipping, so I stopped using quick links. I really do not have the need to be removing my chain, unless I absolutely have to.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2017 9:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 2:36 am
Posts: 105
Lelandjt wrote:
Okay, that's what I thought. The idea that a quick link explodes when installed on a Campy chain sounded fishy.

Brother! Don't you know that we Campy riders generate so much power that even a Froome on a motor equipped bike, will look like he is on flat tyres if he is riding with us! :unbelievable:


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2017 9:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 2:36 am
Posts: 105
spookyload wrote:
I absolutely do things myself normally, but the Campy 11 chain tool is a big pill to swallow. I own one now, and it is known around town to come to me if you need a campy chain tool to use.

You and I should go into business and put that other Campy Pro Shop out of business! I am also one of the Campy go-to guys here as well. LOL :up:


Top
   
Posted: Fri Oct 20, 2017 9:15 pm 


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Considering switching to Campagnolo: A bunch of questions!

[ Go to page: 1 2 3 ]

in Road

Lightweenie

30

2799

Mon Aug 07, 2017 3:42 pm

duvivr6 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Attachment(s) Campagnolo 11 speed using 34/50x11/36! Yes it can be done with PRE-2015 Athena LC Big Gears on Campagnolo 11 speed

in Road

colnagoaddict

14

1110

Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:27 am

colnagoaddict View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. THM M3 ordering questions

in Road

Mtek

6

478

Mon Nov 20, 2017 10:18 pm

Mtek View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Campy PU V1 Questions

in Road

colnagoc59

1

296

Sun Sep 03, 2017 4:17 pm

Miller View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. 2 Canyon questions EPS/SRM

in Road

kuat2770

0

496

Sat Apr 22, 2017 6:35 pm

kuat2770 View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 4371, benzebub, colnagoaddict, corky, superdx, TobinHatesYou and 34 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited