Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About Impressum
It is currently Sun Jan 21, 2018 12:30 am

All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 12:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 2:36 pm
Posts: 102
Unfortunately I've lost the magnet for my Pioneer power meter....I can't find any info on how to configure it to use it without a magnet; anybody know how to do this?

Thanks in advance.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk


Top
   
Posted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 12:14 pm 


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 2:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 9:37 pm
Posts: 1391
Location: it's raining, it must be uk
is it supposed to work without one? typically the magnet is used to trigger a pm so that it 'wakes' up and can measure the cadence

get a small magnet and tape it in the correct position with one of the poles pointing at the pm, should be ok

in the past i've used small rare earth magnets from ebay, small ones 2 x 2 x 1 mm or discs 3 x 1 mm are ok for cadence/speed sensors, you can get a stack for a few £/€/$


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 2:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 2:36 pm
Posts: 102
sungod wrote:
is it supposed to work without one? typically the magnet is used to trigger a pm so that it 'wakes' up and can measure the cadence

get a small magnet and tape it in the correct position with one of the poles pointing at the pm, should be ok

in the past i've used small rare earth magnets from ebay, small ones 2 x 2 x 1 mm or discs 3 x 1 mm are ok for cadence/speed sensors, you can get a stack for a few £/€/$

Yup, I'm pretty sure you can. The pm has an accelerometer which can measure cadence but you have to make some set up changes to do it. I run a Quarq without a magnet and I know Stages don't use one...I just need to know how!

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 2:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 9:37 pm
Posts: 1391
Location: it's raining, it must be uk
have you looked in the manual? if you've lost it there's likely to be a copy online


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 3:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2015 2:03 am
Posts: 81
I've not done it myself, but the power unit can be upgraded to work without a magnet:
viewtopic.php?t=131666&start=30

I've taped a rare earth magnet to my frame and it works fine (left leg only).


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 3:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 7:26 am
Posts: 2209
Location: Atlanta, GA, US
I think it is a firmware update. I use mine without a magnet.

_________________
My Bikes

My Photoblog


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 3:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2015 5:40 pm
Posts: 600
alastairb wrote:
Unfortunately I've lost the magnet for my Pioneer power meter....I can't find any info on how to configure it to use it without a magnet; anybody know how to do this?

Thanks in advance.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk


I had the same issue. It's a little bit tricky and you need the head unit. AFAIK it will work only as a regular power meter and not a pedaling monitor so:
x) upgrade the software on the headunit first
x) you can wake up the unit with removing and puting back the battery
x) using the headunit upgrade the firmware on the power meter
x) switch the mode to power meter
x) pair the headunit with the power meter

I recommend to keep using magnets though.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 3:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 2:36 pm
Posts: 102
nemeseri wrote:
alastairb wrote:
Unfortunately I've lost the magnet for my Pioneer power meter....I can't find any info on how to configure it to use it without a magnet; anybody know how to do this?

Thanks in advance.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk


I had the same issue. It's a little bit tricky and you need the head unit. AFAIK it will work only as a regular power meter and not a pedaling monitor so:
x) upgrade the software on the headunit first
x) you can wake up the unit with removing and puting back the battery
x) using the headunit upgrade the firmware on the power meter
x) switch the mode to power meter
x) pair the headunit with the power meter

I recommend to keep using magnets though.

Thanks. Will do, particularly as I'm using it with a Garmin!

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 5:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 12:29 am
Posts: 20
Does anyone know how to update the firmware without the headunit? It was so easy to do with my Stages with the iOS app...

I've heard that there's a PC tool you can use but I could never find a download link.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 26, 2017 2:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2015 5:40 pm
Posts: 600
djel wrote:
Does anyone know how to update the firmware without the headunit? It was so easy to do with my Stages with the iOS app...

I've heard that there's a PC tool you can use but I could never find a download link.


You should contact pioneer support, they are surprisingly responsive. I heard that there is a USB device that can do the firmware upgrade. Also you can probably bring in the bike to any good dealer and they should be able to get a head unit and upgrade the firmware for you. I think this was the main reason pioneer gave out free head units for a while.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 26, 2017 5:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 1:48 am
Posts: 130
Honestly the easiest thing would be to use a magnet and stick it on there or buy a new magnet kit from Pioneer. BikeBug Australia sell them


Top
   
Posted: Mon Jun 26, 2017 5:38 am 


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Shimano Power Meter

in Road

cunn1n9

1

599

Thu Aug 03, 2017 10:48 pm

cycleboyco View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Lil help w/ old SRAM (Red?) power meter?

in Road

Kidtreo

4

467

Fri Aug 18, 2017 4:34 pm

sungod View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Power Meter For Campagnolo

[ Go to page: 1 2 3 4 ]

in Road

lw11

46

5724

Sun Jul 23, 2017 11:34 pm

Mockenrue View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. First Power meter suggestions

[ Go to page: 13 4 5 6 7 ]

in Road

merser

91

8211

Wed Aug 02, 2017 5:38 pm

evan326 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. power2max power meter

[ Go to page: 1 2 3 ]

in Road

bikeracer99

35

3704

Thu Mar 30, 2017 6:12 am

PinaF8 View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Conza, duende, Google Adsense [Bot], keith, Martin.F, PSJoyce, rynogee, silvalis, Yahoo [Bot] and 40 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited