Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About Impressum
It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 7:49 am

All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Di2 Wiring help
PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 12:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 6:43 pm
Posts: 117
CrankAddictsRich wrote:
DeeHubbs wrote:
When your A-Junction is inside the frame, you will be unable to micro adjust the FD or RD, take the system out of crash recovery mode, or toggle between your preset synchro shift programs.


I won't be using synchro shift, so that isn't even a concern at all. As I said early, I'm new to Di2 so I don't know all of the ins and outs, but isn't the micro adjust really just used during set up? Once the bike is setup, is there really a need to micro-adjust? Not really sure about crash recovery mode...


All probably true - the question for yourself is if you ever do want to change any of this, you'd need to dis-assemble the bike to get access to the A- junction. If you are happy with this then you've got no problem.

If you ever crash and you need the crash recovery then that might be more of an issue. If I remember correctly, if you crash hard enough the RD stops shifting. You hold the button down for several seconds and "resets".

_________________
Cervelo R3 - 5.4kg viewtopic.php?f=10&t=142420


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Di2 Wiring help
PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 1:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2016 1:39 pm
Posts: 678
jorisee01 wrote:
Or you cold just split the cables and connect them and cover them with isolation tape or something. Save some weight too. And probably some money.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk


To clarify, you're suggesting cutting the ends off and splicing the wires to extend them?


Rudi wrote:

All probably true - the question for yourself is if you ever do want to change any of this, you'd need to dis-assemble the bike to get access to the A- junction. If you are happy with this then you've got no problem.

If you ever crash and you need the crash recovery then that might be more of an issue. If I remember correctly, if you crash hard enough the RD stops shifting. You hold the button down for several seconds and "resets".


I don't think it will be too big of a problem... the shiv aero bars come off pretty easily, by taking off the top of the stem and should allow me to pull the electronics out. Not simple, but shouldn't mean pulling the entire bike apart either. I think I'll be able to figure out a lot more of the picture later today when everything gets here.

_________________
2016 Pactimo Brand Ambassador
http://www.Crankaddicts.cc
http://www.skratchlabs.com
2015 Specialized S-Works Allez
2015 Specialized Venge Pro


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Di2 Wiring help
Posted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 1:12 pm 


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Di2 Wiring help
PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 2:01 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 11:43 pm
Posts: 204
From memory, I'm not entirely sure you can ever access the inside of the frame via the head tube. I had to drill a hole in mine to get wiring through. Then drilled another hole under the BB for the other junction boxes. Obviously this isn't the route I;d suggest anyone to go down....

Anyway - might want to double-check you can actually access the inside of the frame anywhere but the seat tube.

_________________
Twitter: @FormerTTchamp https://twitter.com/FormerTTchamp


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Di2 Wiring help
PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 2:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2016 1:39 pm
Posts: 678
Pokerface07 wrote:
From memory, I'm not entirely sure you can ever access the inside of the frame via the head tube. I had to drill a hole in mine to get wiring through. Then drilled another hole under the BB for the other junction boxes. Obviously this isn't the route I;d suggest anyone to go down....

Anyway - might want to double-check you can actually access the inside of the frame anywhere but the seat tube.


my frame is a former world tour team bike and has been drilled already.

_________________
2016 Pactimo Brand Ambassador
http://www.Crankaddicts.cc
http://www.skratchlabs.com
2015 Specialized S-Works Allez
2015 Specialized Venge Pro


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Di2 Wiring help
PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 2:21 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 11:43 pm
Posts: 204
CrankAddictsRich wrote:
my frame is a former world tour team bike and has been drilled already.


In that case - shifters to junction b, brake levers to another junction b. Both of these at top end of frame. One wire from one of these junction B boxes to the other, then one wire from one of these to another junction b at BB.

From Junction B at BB - one cable to rear mech, one to front mech, one to another junction b in seat tube.

From seat tube junction B, one wire to junction a (under saddle) and one wire to battery.


Can't think of any other way to keep Junction A external at rear of bike. But unless you only ever run one set of wheels, you really want that junction to be accessible. On any of my bikes, whenever I change wheels there are sometimes little adjustments I need to make to the mech trim.

_________________
Twitter: @FormerTTchamp https://twitter.com/FormerTTchamp


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Di2 Wiring help
PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 2:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2016 1:39 pm
Posts: 678
Pokerface07 wrote:

In that case - shifters to junction b, brake levers to another junction b. Both of these at top end of frame. One wire from one of these junction B boxes to the other, then one wire from one of these to another junction b at BB.

From Junction B at BB - one cable to rear mech, one to front mech, one to another junction b in seat tube.

From seat tube junction B, one wire to junction a (under saddle) and one wire to battery.


Can't think of any other way to keep Junction A external at rear of bike. But unless you only ever run one set of wheels, you really want that junction to be accessible. On any of my bikes, whenever I change wheels there are sometimes little adjustments I need to make to the mech trim.


Thanks... I saw a similar setup to the one you describe on instagram. Thanks. I hadn't thought about adjust for wheels, but I'll be using at least 2 different sets.

_________________
2016 Pactimo Brand Ambassador
http://www.Crankaddicts.cc
http://www.skratchlabs.com
2015 Specialized S-Works Allez
2015 Specialized Venge Pro


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Di2 Wiring help
PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 2:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 8:22 pm
Posts: 230
CrankAddictsRich wrote:
jorisee01 wrote:
Or you cold just split the cables and connect them and cover them with isolation tape or something. Save some weight too. And probably some money.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk


To clarify, you're suggesting cutting the ends off and splicing the wires to extend them?

Yes. you could even do this:
Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Di2 Wiring help
PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 7:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 11:43 pm
Posts: 204
^--- the Shiv is a nightmare. Solid BB shell and no access to the frame. Even cutting and splicing wouldn't work.

_________________
Twitter: @FormerTTchamp https://twitter.com/FormerTTchamp


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Di2 Wiring help
PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2017 7:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2016 1:39 pm
Posts: 678
OK... I got the stuff yesterday afternoon and have a chance to do a dry-fit this morning and get an idea about how the wires will layout. It appears as if the cables from the shifters on both the extensions and base bar will all be long enough to get to where I need them to go inside the head tube. I'm using Cameron Piper's ExploShiv as a guide.

Image

You can see in the picture below that he has the Di2 wires coming out of the back of the aero bars an into the top of the stem (where the read brake line should be coming out). The holes inside the aero bar mounts are a touch small, I'm measuring 4mm and I've read that the Di2 wires need 6mm clearance, so I'm hoping to put a small drill bit in and take out just enough material to clear. The good part is, I have a bunch of spares that I can test on first :)

Image

In the pic below, you can see that they drilled small holes in base bar to route the brake lever Di2 buttons into the bar, so the internal routing is handling the Di2 wires and the brake cables. This will be a tight fit, but should work.

Image

In this photo below, you can see that he's pulled a bunch of the Di2 guts from inside, and re-routed them back through the brake hole in the top of the stem (you can read why its like this in the link above) but this photos also clearly shows the Di2 cables coming out of the aero bar mounts and you can also see that the back of the stem cover has been trimmed. I believe this is to allow the rear brake cable as well as the Di2 wires, to go from under the stem cover, into the hole in the head tube. He's using a 5-port junction box, which I'm guessing is normally stuff into the head tube and not accessible, so he must be charging via a separate junction box that he plugs into one of the derailleurs.

Image

_________________
2016 Pactimo Brand Ambassador
http://www.Crankaddicts.cc
http://www.skratchlabs.com
2015 Specialized S-Works Allez
2015 Specialized Venge Pro


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Di2 Wiring help
PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2017 8:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2016 1:39 pm
Posts: 678
I think this is the wiring I'll go with... the fact that the shifters are all hard-wired, ties me into an extra JC-41. Can anyone confirm, can I plug the battery into the 5-port A-junction and then run a wire down from the A-Junction to the JC-41 as I labeled it?

Image

_________________
2016 Pactimo Brand Ambassador
http://www.Crankaddicts.cc
http://www.skratchlabs.com
2015 Specialized S-Works Allez
2015 Specialized Venge Pro


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Di2 Wiring help
PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2017 8:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 2:10 pm
Posts: 17
CrankAddictsRich wrote:
DeeHubbs wrote:
...isn't the micro adjust really just used during set up? Once the bike is setup, is there really a need to micro-adjust? Not really sure about crash recovery mode...

Not entirely. It's very common for micro adjustments to be needed after the initial break-in period.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Di2 Wiring help
PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2017 8:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2016 1:39 pm
Posts: 678
Bhaalgorn wrote:
CrankAddictsRich wrote:
DeeHubbs wrote:
...isn't the micro adjust really just used during set up? Once the bike is setup, is there really a need to micro-adjust? Not really sure about crash recovery mode...

Not entirely. It's very common for micro adjustments to be needed after the initial break-in period.


Understood... you'll notice that my latest version has the box in a location I can get to it.

_________________
2016 Pactimo Brand Ambassador
http://www.Crankaddicts.cc
http://www.skratchlabs.com
2015 Specialized S-Works Allez
2015 Specialized Venge Pro


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Di2 Wiring help
PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 3:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 2:48 am
Posts: 1
CrankAddictsRich wrote:
Maybe this is a better solution... just using an extra cable and a-junction in the RD to charge. Then I'd just have to figure out what's going on inside the bars to get the cable to each where I want them too.

Image


You could consider using the 6 port Junction B included with the Shimano XTR SM-BTC1 to join all the TT shifters: http://bike.shimano.com/content/sac-bike/en/home/components11/mountain/xtr-di2/sm-btc1.html It will work for your set up as long as the shifter wires can reach the frame.

The new EW-RS910 is the two port Junction A meant for proprietary frame mounting or mounting in the bar end. It is very small and might help with your installation. It wouldn't take much space if you go with the under the seat Junction A option.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Di2 Wiring help
PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 3:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 8:22 pm
Posts: 230
What an insanely good looking bike, sir!

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Di2 Wiring help
PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 4:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 11:43 pm
Posts: 204
CrankAddictsRich wrote:
I think this is the wiring I'll go with... the fact that the shifters are all hard-wired, ties me into an extra JC-41. Can anyone confirm, can I plug the battery into the 5-port A-junction and then run a wire down from the A-Junction to the JC-41 as I labeled it?

Image



This will work.

_________________
Twitter: @FormerTTchamp https://twitter.com/FormerTTchamp


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Di2 Wiring help
Posted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 4:57 pm 


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: deano87, gzon, Jitensha, KarlC, mrlobber, silvalis, TobinHatesYou, Vieuxchnoque and 29 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited