Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About Impressum
It is currently Sun Jan 21, 2018 12:31 am

All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Di2 Wiring help
PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2017 4:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2016 1:39 pm
Posts: 717
Hey guys... I'm trying to pre-plan some Di2 wiring for a Shiv TT build and I was hoping that some guys with Di2 experience might be able to help me as I have no prior Di2 experience.

Here's the wiring scheme i've come up with.

Image

I bought a very lightly used 6870 Di2 TT set up. Based on the picture, it appears that it comes with a shifters, FD and RD that I've labeled in the photo above. It looks like it also has a 5-way junction box and a JC-41 internal junction box. My plan was to hide the 5-way junction box internal just inside the head tube, along with one of the new BT/Ant + D-Fly boxes. I was going to drill a small hole in the tope of the seat post and mount a 3-way junction box under the saddle so that I could re-charge. Will this work? Thanks in advance guys.

_________________
2016 Pactimo Brand Ambassador
http://www.Crankaddicts.cc
http://www.skratchlabs.com
2015 Specialized S-Works Allez
2015 Specialized Venge Pro


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Di2 Wiring help
PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2017 5:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2009 7:35 pm
Posts: 163
I don't think that you are allowed to have two EW-90's (A and B) in the system at the same time. I haven't tried it myself but none of Shimano's charts or manuals say that it will work. You could use a pair of EW-JC41's or EW-JC130's to combine the shifter wires into a single wire in the downtube. The JC41 is small enough to fit inside of bars and bar extensions (I have done it) so they can be hidden. The other thing to consider is that the 6871 wires are permanently attached to the lever so if the length is wrong you will need additional wires and junctions. Take a look at the attached file which is an excerpt from the technical manual.
Attachment:
Di2TT Wiring.JPG
Di2TT Wiring.JPG [ 49.25 KiB | Viewed 918 times ]


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Di2 Wiring help
Posted: Tue Jun 20, 2017 5:17 pm 


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Di2 Wiring help
PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2017 5:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2016 1:39 pm
Posts: 717
djwalker wrote:
I don't think that you are allowed to have two EW-90's (A and B) in the system at the same time. I haven't tried it myself but none of Shimano's charts or manuals say that it will work.


Hmmmm... good info. The thing that made me think it would work was that I read a post from a guy that said he kept a spare EW-90A and 300mm cable and he'd plug it into his RD to charge the system.

djwalker wrote:
You could use a pair of EW-JC41's or EW-JC130's to combine the shifter wires into a single wire in the downtube. The JC41 is small enough to fit inside of bars and bar extensions (I have done it) so they can be hidden. The other thing to consider is that the 6871 wires are permanently attached to the lever so if the length is wrong you will need additional wires and junctions. Take a look at the attached file which is an excerpt from the technical manual.Di2TT Wiring.JPG


I wasn't aware of that aspect of the 6971 shifter levers. Hopefully they'll work, if not, I may be forced to run some of the system external.

_________________
2016 Pactimo Brand Ambassador
http://www.Crankaddicts.cc
http://www.skratchlabs.com
2015 Specialized S-Works Allez
2015 Specialized Venge Pro


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Di2 Wiring help
PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2017 6:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 9:39 pm
Posts: 1083
have you explored the idea of using the new 'Y' cables? you can avoid using multiple junction boxes.

_________________
- AX Lightness Vial EVO D + DA9070 + Enve SES 3.4 carbon hubs
- Parlee Altum + DA9150 + Enve SES 4.5 carbon hubs
- Parlee ESX + DA9070 + THM SRM PM + Enve SES 6.7 CK hubs
- Independent Fabrication Ti FLW + Campy SR11 + Enve 3.4 CK hubs


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Di2 Wiring help
PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2017 6:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2016 1:39 pm
Posts: 717
kode54 wrote:
have you explored the idea of using the new 'Y' cables? you can avoid using multiple junction boxes.


No, I didn't realize such a thing existed... hmmm.

_________________
2016 Pactimo Brand Ambassador
http://www.Crankaddicts.cc
http://www.skratchlabs.com
2015 Specialized S-Works Allez
2015 Specialized Venge Pro


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Di2 Wiring help
PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2017 6:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 9:39 pm
Posts: 1083
new for this year/season. cleans up some of the wiring.

_________________
- AX Lightness Vial EVO D + DA9070 + Enve SES 3.4 carbon hubs
- Parlee Altum + DA9150 + Enve SES 4.5 carbon hubs
- Parlee ESX + DA9070 + THM SRM PM + Enve SES 6.7 CK hubs
- Independent Fabrication Ti FLW + Campy SR11 + Enve 3.4 CK hubs


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Di2 Wiring help
PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2017 6:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 9:39 pm
Posts: 1083
did a quick search and this came up...

https://glorycycles.com/shimano-di2-ew- ... e-harness/

_________________
- AX Lightness Vial EVO D + DA9070 + Enve SES 3.4 carbon hubs
- Parlee Altum + DA9150 + Enve SES 4.5 carbon hubs
- Parlee ESX + DA9070 + THM SRM PM + Enve SES 6.7 CK hubs
- Independent Fabrication Ti FLW + Campy SR11 + Enve 3.4 CK hubs


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Di2 Wiring help
PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2017 6:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2009 7:35 pm
Posts: 163
You could use a Y cable to connect the buttons in the extensions. That, plus the two wires from the brake/shift levers and one wire in the down tube would fill up a single JC41 and should work fine. If the shift/brake wires are too short you can use a coupler and extension wire like is shown in the drawing I attached above.

I think that a second EW-90 might work for charging but I don't know if it would allow shifting to work because both EW-90s would be trying to do the same functions- mode select, adjustment, etc..


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Di2 Wiring help
PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2017 7:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:56 pm
Posts: 1387
Location: Canada
It will work for charging only. You just can't run the system with it in line. (shifting, adjustment, mode selection etc.)

Sent from my SM-G900W8 using Tapatalk

_________________
My RCA


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Di2 Wiring help
PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2017 8:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2016 1:39 pm
Posts: 717
Maybe this is a better solution... just using an extra cable and a-junction in the RD to charge. Then I'd just have to figure out what's going on inside the bars to get the cable to each where I want them too.

Image

_________________
2016 Pactimo Brand Ambassador
http://www.Crankaddicts.cc
http://www.skratchlabs.com
2015 Specialized S-Works Allez
2015 Specialized Venge Pro


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Di2 Wiring help
PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 4:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 11:05 pm
Posts: 68
When your A-Junction is inside the frame, you will be unable to micro adjust the FD or RD, take the system out of crash recovery mode, or toggle between your preset synchro shift programs.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Di2 Wiring help
PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 11:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2016 1:39 pm
Posts: 717
DeeHubbs wrote:
When your A-Junction is inside the frame, you will be unable to micro adjust the FD or RD, take the system out of crash recovery mode, or toggle between your preset synchro shift programs.


I won't be using synchro shift, so that isn't even a concern at all. As I said early, I'm new to Di2 so I don't know all of the ins and outs, but isn't the micro adjust really just used during set up? Once the bike is setup, is there really a need to micro-adjust? Not really sure about crash recovery mode...

_________________
2016 Pactimo Brand Ambassador
http://www.Crankaddicts.cc
http://www.skratchlabs.com
2015 Specialized S-Works Allez
2015 Specialized Venge Pro


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Di2 Wiring help
PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 12:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 8:22 pm
Posts: 230
Or you cold just split the cables and connect them and cover them with isolation tape or something. Save some weight too. And probably some money.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Di2 Wiring help
PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 12:42 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 11:43 pm
Posts: 204
djwalker wrote:
You could use a Y cable to connect the buttons in the extensions. That, plus the two wires from the brake/shift levers and one wire in the down tube would fill up a single JC41 and should work fine. If the shift/brake wires are too short you can use a coupler and extension wire like is shown in the drawing I attached above.

I think that a second EW-90 might work for charging but I don't know if it would allow shifting to work because both EW-90s would be trying to do the same functions- mode select, adjustment, etc..



Y-cables won't work. Both the extension shifters and brake lever/shifters for TT have cables hard-wired in already.

_________________
Twitter: @FormerTTchamp https://twitter.com/FormerTTchamp


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Di2 Wiring help
Posted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 12:42 pm 


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: Di2 Wiring help
PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 12:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 11:43 pm
Posts: 204
You can do it, but you'll just need to use more B-junctions to connect the front shifters to the A-junction under the saddle.

_________________
Twitter: @FormerTTchamp https://twitter.com/FormerTTchamp


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Conza, dbnm, duende, Martin.F, PSJoyce, Yahoo [Bot] and 43 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited