Cheap di2 group

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
yumseyo
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:25 am
Location: San Francisco

by yumseyo

Timujin wrote:
motorapido wrote:If your running Etube Di2, you will need to run a Shimano shifter of some sort. There is acanbus logic chip built in and Cateye buttons on there own won't work.
Your options are the brain electronics from a Normal drop bar shifter with Cateye buttons grafted into the switches, Not a route i would recommend.



ive done this on my P5, works perfect....

Image


Aren't those Cateye buttons? is this the brain electronics from the normal drop bar shifter with cateye buttons grafted into the switches?

by Weenie


Timujin
Posts: 350
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2013 5:43 pm

by Timujin

yumseyo wrote:
Aren't those Cateye buttons? is this the brain electronics from the normal drop bar shifter with cateye buttons grafted into the switches?


cateye yes... i used the TT bar end shifters the dual shift ones..

yumseyo
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:25 am
Location: San Francisco

by yumseyo

Well, back to the drawing board, my FD 6770 and RD 6770 deal fell thru. So far I have a FD 6770, a SM EW 67A shifter connector, and SM JC 40 the four plug external connector with 4 wires on it. I am looking for a battery connector (I have a battery I can use from my 7970 system), a rear 6770 (which are not easy to find on ebay) and knowledge for installing push button shifters to the EW 67 A. Is my thinking right? Thanks everyone !

kulivontot
Posts: 1170
Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 7:28 pm

by kulivontot

The rear is the hardest one to find. I'd ditch it all and start over 11spd. Actually, FD is probably the only thing that's not compatible

BdaGhisallo
Posts: 1797
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 1:38 pm

by BdaGhisallo

Go with 11sp 6870. Our hosts - Starbike - have excellent pricing.

VAT free prices since you're in the US.
6870 RD 179.34
6870 FD 165.25
6870 STI 245.04
ETube wire set 93.85
Junctions 105.00

That's pretty good pricing for a full on 11sp DI2 setup that will perform as well as the DA DI2.

Whenever I have tried to find good 2nd hand DI2 components on Ebay I give up because it's been more sensible to buy new from Starbike for a little bit extra (and I do mean just a little bit). You may find the 6870 STI levers a bit cheaper on the 'Bay but otherwise, not so much.

yumseyo
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:25 am
Location: San Francisco

by yumseyo

BdaGhisallo wrote:Go with 11sp 6870. Our hosts - Starbike - have excellent pricing.

VAT free prices since you're in the US.
6870 RD 179.34
6870 FD 165.25
6870 STI 245.04
ETube wire set 93.85
Junctions 105.00

That's pretty good pricing for a full on 11sp DI2 setup that will perform as well as the DA DI2.

Whenever I have tried to find good 2nd hand DI2 components on Ebay I give up because it's been more sensible to buy new from Starbike for a little bit extra (and I do mean just a little bit). You may find the 6870 STI levers a bit cheaper on the 'Bay but otherwise, not so much.

yumseyo
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:25 am
Location: San Francisco

by yumseyo

yumseyo wrote:
BdaGhisallo wrote:Go with 11sp 6870. Our hosts - Starbike - have excellent pricing.

VAT free prices since you're in the US.
6870 RD 179.34
6870 FD 165.25
6870 STI 245.04
ETube wire set 93.85
Junctions 105.00

That's pretty good pricing for a full on 11sp DI2 setup that will perform as well as the DA DI2.

Whenever I have tried to find good 2nd hand DI2 components on Ebay I give up because it's been more sensible to buy new from Starbike for a little bit extra (and I do mean just a little bit). You may find the 6870 STI levers a bit cheaper on the 'Bay but otherwise, not so much.


Thanks BdaGhisallo, but I can only run a 10 speed on my folder hub at this point. The 6870's are only for 11 speeds and can't be set up to go to 10 right?

yumseyo
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:25 am
Location: San Francisco

by yumseyo

yumseyo wrote:
Timujin wrote:
motorapido wrote:If your running Etube Di2, you will need to run a Shimano shifter of some sort. There is acanbus logic chip built in and Cateye buttons on there own won't work.
Your options are the brain electronics from a Normal drop bar shifter with Cateye buttons grafted into the switches, Not a route i would recommend.



ive done this on my P5, works perfect....

Image


Aren't those Cateye buttons? is this the brain electronics from the normal drop bar shifter with cateye buttons grafted into the switches?


By chance, did you have a write on for this modification? Thanks..

BdaGhisallo
Posts: 1797
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 1:38 pm

by BdaGhisallo

yumseyo wrote:
yumseyo wrote:
BdaGhisallo wrote:Go with 11sp 6870. Our hosts - Starbike - have excellent pricing.

VAT free prices since you're in the US.
6870 RD 179.34
6870 FD 165.25
6870 STI 245.04
ETube wire set 93.85
Junctions 105.00

That's pretty good pricing for a full on 11sp DI2 setup that will perform as well as the DA DI2.

Whenever I have tried to find good 2nd hand DI2 components on Ebay I give up because it's been more sensible to buy new from Starbike for a little bit extra (and I do mean just a little bit). You may find the 6870 STI levers a bit cheaper on the 'Bay but otherwise, not so much.


Thanks BdaGhisallo, but I can only run a 10 speed on my folder hub at this point. The 6870's are only for 11 speeds and can't be set up to go to 10 right?


Starbike is showing the 6770 FD for 142.70 and the 6770 STI for 185.00. Heck I have some NOS 6770 levers that I would sell you for less than that. You'd have to hunt for a 6770 RD somewhere though and everything else you'd need is current E-Tube tech

motorapido
Posts: 241
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 7:08 pm

by motorapido

You can pick up mech's on Ebay pretty cheap i've recently sold a couple of them and only got £85 for them. especially if you don't mind one with the odd scrape on it, i've touched up a few scratches using nail polish and its hard to tell the difference in colour.
PM me if you want a pristine 6770 front mech as i got no buyers when i listed it on Ebay.
External batteries and mounts can be bought cheap and hacked to make them internal. although the internal battery SM-BTR2 is becoming cheap as well now people are upgrading to the newer BT-DN110.
All you really need is a junction A, you can make up the rest of the harness from 2 core wire and just solder on the plugs, various shops do the wires for £13 each, so with 2 wires you can create a 4 way harness.
Junction A wise, if you don't mind pulling the battery to charge it then use the older SM-EW67-A, or you will need to spend a little more and get a SM-EW90-A.
If you want to run remote switches on your brake levers then get the climbing SW600 or Alfine S705 flat shifter (you can get these new off Ebay for £35) and then gut it, and reconfigure its switching using the Etube software. You just might not havethe on the fly fine derailleur adjustment, but if your not changing wheels then that shouldn't be an issue.

goodboyr
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:56 pm
Location: Canada

by goodboyr

yumseyo wrote:
yumseyo wrote:
BdaGhisallo wrote:Go with 11sp 6870. Our hosts - Starbike - have excellent pricing.

VAT free prices since you're in the US.
6870 RD 179.34
6870 FD 165.25
6870 STI 245.04
ETube wire set 93.85
Junctions 105.00

That's pretty good pricing for a full on 11sp DI2 setup that will perform as well as the DA DI2.

Whenever I have tried to find good 2nd hand DI2 components on Ebay I give up because it's been more sensible to buy new from Starbike for a little bit extra (and I do mean just a little bit). You may find the 6870 STI levers a bit cheaper on the 'Bay but otherwise, not so much.


Thanks BdaGhisallo, but I can only run a 10 speed on my folder hub at this point. The 6870's are only for 11 speeds and can't be set up to go to 10 right?


There is an easy way........

http://darkspeedworks.com/blog-11speed.htm

yumseyo
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:25 am
Location: San Francisco

by yumseyo

goodboyr wrote:
yumseyo wrote:
yumseyo wrote:
BdaGhisallo wrote:Go with 11sp 6870. Our hosts - Starbike - have excellent pricing.

VAT free prices since you're in the US.
6870 RD 179.34
6870 FD 165.25
6870 STI 245.04
ETube wire set 93.85
Junctions 105.00

That's pretty good pricing for a full on 11sp DI2 setup that will perform as well as the DA DI2.

Whenever I have tried to find good 2nd hand DI2 components on Ebay I give up because it's been more sensible to buy new from Starbike for a little bit extra (and I do mean just a little bit). You may find the 6870 STI levers a bit cheaper on the 'Bay but otherwise, not so much.


Thanks BdaGhisallo, but I can only run a 10 speed on my folder hub at this point. The 6870's are only for 11 speeds and can't be set up to go to 10 right?


There is an easy way........

http://darkspeedworks.com/blog-11speed.htm


Thanks Mr Goodboyr ! So if I can find a RD 6870 with 11 speed cassette, send out the cassette get it altered, get some sw610 climbing shifters, I would then have my rear 11 speed system working on my 8/9/10 speed hub. ooh, and just find another FD right? I do have a 6770 10 speed FD, but will that work? Don

goodboyr
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:56 pm
Location: Canada

by goodboyr

Read farther down in the article. All you need to do is remove one cog and adjust limits. No need to machine the cassette.

Sent from my SM-G900W8 using Tapatalk

SL1
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 3:43 pm

by SL1

yumseyo wrote:I do have a 6770 10 speed FD, but will that work?


Depends what firmware version the 6870 has installed. If it still has the old firmware it may work if you plug the 6770 FD in. But Shimano released a firmware update to prevent mixing and matching. If the 6870 has been updated to any of latest firmware version(s). Both the FD and RD must be 6870 and both plugged in for either to work. It cannot be reverted back to the old firmware version.

goodboyr wrote:All you need to do is remove one cog and adjust limits. No need to machine the cassette.


This wont work with Di2. Because Di2 has a safety feature built in to the limits screws. If the limit screw(s) is too tight against the stop. It will automatically shift to the next cog. And a makeshift 10spd limit stop could potentially damage the servo motor and cause the battery to drain.

by Weenie


goodboyr
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:56 pm
Location: Canada

by goodboyr

Your concern applies to a poorly adjusted limit on any di2 Rd, no matter what config. The instructions assume you know how to properly adjust the limits. Not sure why you think there's a difference. The method described has been used successfully many times. And please explain the automatic shifting you are talking about.

Sent from my SM-G900W8 using Tapatalk

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post