Look pedal removal - allen key vs pedal wrench?

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

mvcap

by mvcap

Alert! Total novice here when it comes to maintenance, but this feels like a safe place to ask!

How do I know whether my pedals need removed by way of a pedal wrench or an allen key?

Wanting to swap out an old set of Look PP247 for Look Keo 2 Max Blades. Maybe it matters, maybe not, I just want to do it properly as the YouTube tutorials I have seen did not specify which to use but instead focused on technique for not stripping threads or tearing up knuckles.

Thank you!

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

duvivr6

by duvivr6

My Look pedals which are the newer KEO models do not have a pedal wrench piece.
If yours do then you should be able to use it, either way would be good. Remember pedals thread the opposite direction.

C36

by C36

The wrench can be used on the older pedals, Keo blade only accept Allen key. The wrench need to be quite thin. But if you have the proper one that's probably the easiest option. You have the bigger lever and easily remove your older Looks.

Envoyé de mon iPhone en utilisant Tapatalk

BdaGhisallo

by BdaGhisallo

Pretty easy - if there is a recess for an allen key in the end of the axle you can use an allen key. If there are wrench flats you can use a pedal wrench. If your pedal has both - you can decide for yourself.

mvcap

by mvcap

BdaGhisallo wrote:Pretty easy - if there is a recess for an allen key in the end of the axle you can use an allen key. If there are wrench flats you can use a pedal wrench. If your pedal has both - you can decide for yourself.

Perfect, just what I was looking for - thank you!

Also, thanks to you other posters for the ideas...all very helpful and I truly appreciate it.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Geoff

by Geoff