Shimano Ultegra Di2 vs Campagnolo Chorus Mechanical

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

Pan

by Pan

I'm working on a new Pinarello F8 Road Race/ Crit bike build and I've got roughly a $1400 budget for a groupset.

Ultegra Di2 : 2407g
Campagnolo Chorus : 2120g + cables/housings

I'm all for that Campagnolo bling but I'm a terrible bike mechanic. I can never get "perfect" shifting when I index my 105 system. I'd like to be able to downshift during sprints confidently with a quality groupset while still making this bike build classy and light weight.

What are your thoughts between the two groupsets and what belongs on a Pinarello?
2017 Pinarello F8 Dura Ace 9100 @ 7.5kg
2013 Bianchi Infinito 105 @ 8.2kg
1982 Colnago Super Single Speed @ 8.6kg

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

havana

by havana

You will not find a gruppo easier to set up than Di2.
Editor-in-chief CycloWorld.cc - the largest database of gran fondo's and sportives in the world.

BdaGhisallo

by BdaGhisallo

What belongs on our Pinarello is what you want on there. Don't get stuck with a notion that there is a "proper" groupset to put on there. Get whatever it is you decide you want and ignore anyone who tells you otherwise.

That said I don't think you can beat electric shifting these days and the Ultegra DI2 is both well performing and very well priced for the performance you get.

mike
Resident Pro

by mike

di2 for sure.

stien

by stien

The Di2 is super awesome. Heavier than Chorus maybe but much easier to set up and maintain.

Pan

by Pan

Thanks for the feedback, I really wish Chorus EPS came in V3, the older V2's installation and use of drilling holes in the frame and using magnetic straps to turn off the system seemed like a joke.

Calnago
In Memoriam

by Calnago