Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About Impressum
It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 7:31 am

All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2017 12:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2016 7:28 pm
Posts: 116
kkibbler wrote:
There is no hole at the front of the bike big enough to pass thru the ~5mm diameter plug on a Di2 cable.


is it necessary? i mean you can not use other holes, for example the big one at the bottom of the bottom bracket or at the front the one for hydraulic cable?

thanks a lot, it is really helpful. i dont want to drill the frame, it is under warranty. although di2 would be very nice, i can live with mechanic and there is always etap for the future. i have never seen di2 mounting, people are just telling me they have seen di2 on frames with very small holes at the front.. they say there is always a way it just means more work.. but guys from Canyon told me it is not possible and kkibbler confirmed so they probably know what they say.. my experience is that if they havent tried they say not supported. not possible means not possible, but would like to know for sure before i give up..


Top
   
Posted: Sat Apr 29, 2017 12:30 pm 


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2017 12:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2016 3:32 pm
Posts: 21
It's possible, but there's damage to the frame.
Just relaxed and e tap is good for mental health!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2017 6:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2016 7:28 pm
Posts: 116
shineplus wrote:
It's possible, but there's damage to the frame.
Just relaxed and e tap is good for mental health!


Etap is not good for my wallet:)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2017 7:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 12:09 pm
Posts: 821
I have an Endurace slx that came stock with DI2. I can tell you, the only thing you need is to cut a sleeve in the rubber grommet where your hydrolic housing enters the frame at front. And you have to route the Di2 wire first, and than install the hydrolic housing, because there is not enough room for the 5mm connection to pass between frame and hydrolic housing. That is my next upgrade to clean up the wires. Currently, the Di2 wire enters the frame in the same place as the shift cable in your mech. frame. For the remaining, I 'm pretty sure can use all the other existing holes to route your Di wires and end up with a clean install. Good luck :thumbup:

_________________
Current bikes:
Scott Addict Premium Disc 2018
Scott Addict Orica Greenedge 2015

Retired:
Canyon Endurace CF SLX 2016
Canyon Ultimate CF SLX 2013


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2017 9:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2016 7:28 pm
Posts: 116
Thank you so much for "insider" info! When do you plan to do your wires cleaning?
Btw you have a very nice Endurace build (maybe 25mm tubeless tyres would be my choice:)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 14, 2017 8:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 2:26 pm
Posts: 2
Delorre any updates on cleaning up di2 cable routing?
I'm currently trying to decide between electric and mechanical Canyon Endurace frameset. If di2 connector is cut off, then di2 wire could probably go through hole for mechanical cable and after that di2 connector could be reattached to di2 wire.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2017 4:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 3:38 am
Posts: 72
Bumping this topic up...I have an Aeroad mechanical frame on which I want to install Di2. I know eTap is an option but would prefer di2. I'm guessing running the battery internal may not be possible (since that would need holes in the frame to route the wires, right?) - would external battery work? Will the situation be any different with the 8000 series Ultegra Di2?

I'd really appreciate any advice/help! Needless to say, I'd like to avoid drilling the frame.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2017 6:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 2:26 pm
Posts: 2
@kauphy Why don't you just cut Di2 wire, pass it through mechanical cable frame hole and reconnect wire with connector again (of course, make it weatherproof using hot glue or heat shrink tube)? Di2 wire is 15-20€ and frame is a lot more :) There are Shimano or Canyon rubber grommets that can be used in this case too.

@Delorre I've got Endurance CF SL non mechanical frame version and I did run Di2 cable with hydraulic brake hose. I had to cut rubber grommet to be able to put it back in, around brake hose and Di2 wire.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Lightest mechanical disc brake caliper?

in Road

alcatraz

10

1012

Wed Aug 30, 2017 3:36 pm

joejack951 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Do Roval Disc CLX 50's fit Canyon Ultimate CF SLX Disc?

in Road

dvearn

4

959

Thu Jun 01, 2017 6:32 am

hannawald View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Moots Vamoost RSL (non disc) vs Canyon Ultimate SLX CF DISC ?

in Road

rolfo

13

1868

Thu Apr 27, 2017 4:02 pm

rolfo View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Canyon CF SL(X) Disc tyre size

in Road

Roel W

5

394

Sat Dec 09, 2017 8:58 am

hannawald View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Pinarello F10, F8, or Bianchi Oltre XR4? (edit: + Canyon Ultimate CF CLX Disc)

[ Go to page: 1 2 3 ]

in Road

matrix

37

3085

Mon Nov 20, 2017 10:47 pm

Shortsocks View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Francois_Viviers and 26 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited