Powermeter Help - P2M Force vs Dzero Red vs InPower

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
MikeyBE
Posts: 241
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 6:59 pm

by MikeyBE

Dear all,

I'm in a utter quandary over purchasing my first power meter. I have a couple of bikes with different standards (BB30 with SiSL2/ BB86 with SRAM Force Crank/ Threaded with Rotor 3D+.

As a general compromise I was looking at either upgrading my Force Crank with a P2M, or buying a new Quarq DZero Crankset... or I go down the 'it fits in everything but only measures one leg' route with the InPower...

The main question I have at this point is whether a Quarq DZero Red crankset would be demonstrably better than a Force Crankset with P2M spider. Would the Red crankset be stiffer at all?

An upgrade to my 3D+ with InPower would be the easiest option, but the internets say it is an inferior option to Quarq, P2M, etc....

Any advice at all....?

User avatar
hmai18
Posts: 648
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:19 am
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada.

by hmai18

So why not just get the P2M Rotor 3D+ spider, which is compatible with both BB30, BB86, and 68mm threaded BSA with the appropriate BB?

by Weenie


jeffy
Posts: 1252
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 11:51 pm

by jeffy

P2M Rotor 3D+ will only fit with some (of dubious reputation) 30mm BB86 bearings.

The weight difference between converting your force->p2max and the rotor3D24P2M is negligible.

I would vote ForceP2M. p2m is great whatever crank you choose.

MikeyBE
Posts: 241
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 6:59 pm

by MikeyBE

To clarify... You are saying the quarq red crank would be no better than a force p2max?

Thanks!

Sent from my 6039Y using Tapatalk

jeffy
Posts: 1252
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 11:51 pm

by jeffy

no i mean Force P2Max VS Rotor24P3Max
... my calculation might be off but based on mine (Rotor24) the Force would be very close in terms of weight.

Considering you already have a Force crank, fitting a P2M is *almost* a no brainer.

The new Quarq might be better that the old Quarq, but "issues" are fairly commonly reported online.

jfranci3
Posts: 228
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:21 pm

by jfranci3

So three bikes and they all need power.
2 are 30mm, 1 is 24mm.
And you don't want to go crankarm or pedal?
The crankset takes 20 minutes to swap out, but don't think you'll be swapping spiders all that often. The lockrings aren't made for that frequent of changes.


I'd change the BB86 to BB30 and pick your favorite crankset.

MikeyBE
Posts: 241
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 6:59 pm

by MikeyBE

Yeah it's abit of a toss up between the quarq and p2m spider to upgrade my force chainset right now!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

jeffy
Posts: 1252
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 11:51 pm

by jeffy

buy an old S-type p2max spider. great price

jlok
Posts: 441
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 3:30 am

by jlok

SRAM Red DZero GXP fits in virtually everything with the proper BB or adaptors.

MikeyBE
Posts: 241
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 6:59 pm

by MikeyBE

Thanks everyone - I'm going for a Red DZero GXP!

:-D

MikeyBE
Posts: 241
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 6:59 pm

by MikeyBE

Aaaaaaand now I'm weighing up chainring options. Looking at non-sram options, does anyone know if the OctaRamp MC or CT2s play well with SRAM Red 22 cranks?

Cheers

anlimdy22
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 3:50 pm

by anlimdy22

MikeyBE wrote:Aaaaaaand now I'm weighing up chainring options. Looking at non-sram options, does anyone know if the OctaRamp MC or CT2s play well with SRAM Red 22 cranks?

Cheers

I'm using it but since red22 got hidden bolt on the crank arm, the drop chain pin not alight with the arm.

Sent from my SM-N9208 using Tapatalk

MikeyBE
Posts: 241
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 6:59 pm

by MikeyBE

[/quote]
I'm using it but since red22 got hidden bolt on the crank arm, the drop chain pin not alight with the arm.

[/quote]

Hi there, which chainrings? Does it mater they are not aligned, and how are they performing!




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

stevec1975
Posts: 239
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 12:37 pm

by stevec1975

I have CT2 on my Sram Red Quarq, work perfectly, just moved to fibre lytes with eTap, which are not quite as good.

MikeyBE
Posts: 241
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 6:59 pm

by MikeyBE

stevec1975 wrote:I have CT2 on my Sram Red Quarq, work perfectly, just moved to fibre lytes with eTap, which are not quite as good.


Cheers - and they look damn good on your Scott.

by Weenie


Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post