School me on winter cycling gear.

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

ichobi

by ichobi

As i have lived my entire life in south east asia, I have zero knowledge about cold weather cycling. There are only two ways we dress to ride here - the lightest jersey you could buy, and perhaps a lightweight gilet for some morning climbing. Our 'winter' only goes down to 13c and that never happens more than 2 weeks a year.

I tried researching but still not sure what are the essentials I need. Next year i will live temporarily in the UK for a year so i think might be good idea to snatch some winter gears during Summer sale.

I get cold very easily.

So as far as i understand i will need:
1. Warm base layer like Merino, or mesh type if ride hard.
2. Mid weight jersey, if short sleeves might also need arm warmers?
3. Midweight bib shorts and leg warmers?
4. A windproof jacket. A waterproof ones if ride in the wet?
5. Shoescover.
6. Insulated gloves.

Ideally i dont want the hassle of wearing too many layers but afaik waterproof jacket usually does not breathe very well right? Let's say if i have to ride in 0-10 celcius weather range with chance of rain, what would be the ideal type of layers you pick?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Last edited by ichobi on Wed Mar 15, 2017 8:35 am, edited 2 times in total.

istigatrice

by istigatrice

Castelli Gabba and nanoflex with a merino base layer. Good for me down to 0 degrees with rain. If the rain is heavy & persistent it does seep in but if it's a passing shower it's fine.
I write the weightweenies blog, hope you like it :)

Disclosure: I'm sponsored by Velocite, but I do give my honest opinion about them (I'm endorsed to race their bikes, not say nice things about them)

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

ichobi

by ichobi