New Dura Ace Di2 9150 connecting to Garmin Edge 1000

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
greenp
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 12:00 pm

by greenp

Hi please can anyone help, I'am trying to connect Dura ace 9150 with my Garmin 1000 this will enable me to operate my garmin using the 2 hidden button on the shifters. My garmin edge 1000 can see the Di2 as its listed on the sensor page but the Di2 icon just flashes at the top of the garmin screen, when I select the sensor and select connect it just says connecting but never actually connects... any help appreciated .. Thanks Paul


by Weenie


greenp
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 12:00 pm

by greenp

Hi cyclespeed my understanding is with the new Dura Ace 9150 I didn't need a D-Fly unit ?? am I wrong ... Thanks Paul

greenp
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 12:00 pm

by greenp

Hi cyclespeed my understanding is with the new Dura Ace 9150 I didn't need a D-Fly unit ?? am I wrong ... Thanks Paul

User avatar
cyclespeed
Posts: 585
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 8:45 am

by cyclespeed

Sorry, but you do need a Dfly to communicate with the Garmin, even with the new 9150.

greenp
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 12:00 pm

by greenp

Hi Thanks .. do you know a model/part number compatible with thr 9150please

TurboKoo
Posts: 397
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 7:55 pm

by TurboKoo

WU101 and WU111
Scott Foil
Shimano 9150
Shimano FCR-9100-P
Shimano C60 tubulars

p3dalfaster
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:22 am

by p3dalfaster

And It's best to install it within the frame - nice and hidden out the way then.

greenp
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 12:00 pm

by greenp

Hi Turbokoo do I need both those item WU 101 and WU111 ?

Thanks p3dalfaster good tip

greenp
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 12:00 pm

by greenp

Thanks for your help .... Do I also need a new Battery ?

TurboKoo
Posts: 397
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 7:55 pm

by TurboKoo

You only need either.
Scott Foil
Shimano 9150
Shimano FCR-9100-P
Shimano C60 tubulars

greenp
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 12:00 pm

by greenp

Thanks again TurboKoo I will get WU 111 ... Must say I'm very surprised the New dura ace 9150 didn't come complete with this item !!!???

User avatar
carbonLORD
in the industry
Posts: 394
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2004 6:31 pm
Contact:

by carbonLORD

I plugged my WU111 into the left shifter with a 200mm eTube wire, (since each shifter has 3 ports) and double stick tapped it under my Aeroad handlebar so it's hidden and right next to the Garmin. I'll post pics later. Works great!
carbonLORD.com

eaglejackson
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 5:26 am
Location: PNW

by eaglejackson

greenp wrote:Thanks for your help .... Do I also need a new Battery ?

You need a D-Fly (either the EW-WU101 or the new EW-WU111) and a new battery (BT-DN110). Yes, it's a little surprising that the new DA still requires a D-Fly but so be it. Having the hidden buttons is a very nice feature.

by Weenie


User avatar
cyclespeed
Posts: 585
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 8:45 am

by cyclespeed

eaglejackson wrote:
greenp wrote:Thanks for your help .... Do I also need a new Battery ?

You need a D-Fly (either the EW-WU101 or the new EW-WU111) and a new battery (BT-DN110). Yes, it's a little surprising that the new DA still requires a D-Fly but so be it. Having the hidden buttons is a very nice feature.


You don't need the new battery if you just want to talk to your Garmin. You DO need the new battery if you want Synchro Shift and/or Bluetooth.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post