Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About Impressum
It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 4:13 pm

All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Mar 01, 2017 10:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 8
I just purchased Record EPS V3. I am looking for inspiration on how to install/setup my cockpit area the cleanest. If anyone has pictures of theirs to share that would be awesome!

Thanks!

Also if anyone has any tips or advice I would greatly appreciate that as well! (Yes I have read through the forums)


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 02, 2017 8:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 2:36 am
Posts: 105
keaton wrote:
I just purchased Record EPS V3. I am looking for inspiration on how to install/setup my cockpit area the cleanest. If anyone has pictures of theirs to share that would be awesome!
Also if anyone has any tips or advice I would greatly appreciate that as well! (Yes I have read through the forums)


If you tell us your frame make, model and size, I will be happy to provide tips. campy V3 over V2/V1 is really easy to set up in my opinion. I have Pinarello bikes, but I have seen Campy V3 installed on other bikes very clean and nice.

Let us know what you got and we can continue the conversation.

..A..


Top
   
Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2017 8:20 pm 


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 02, 2017 10:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 8:34 pm
Posts: 709
If you use a Computer on an out-front bracket just mount it beneath that - about as clean as your going to get.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2017 3:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 8
avispa wrote:
keaton wrote:
I just purchased Record EPS V3. I am looking for inspiration on how to install/setup my cockpit area the cleanest. If anyone has pictures of theirs to share that would be awesome!
Also if anyone has any tips or advice I would greatly appreciate that as well! (Yes I have read through the forums)


If you tell us your frame make, model and size, I will be happy to provide tips. campy V3 over V2/V1 is really easy to set up in my opinion. I have Pinarello bikes, but I have seen Campy V3 installed on other bikes very clean and nice.

Let us know what you got and we can continue the conversation.

..A..



BMC Teammachine slr02. I believe I will have to slightly enlarged a couple holes to fit eps. I saw a slr01 so I know its possible, even though BMC creates their frames specifically for di2 only.

Thanks for your help!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2017 3:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 8
morrisond wrote:
If you use a Computer on an out-front bracket just mount it beneath that - about as clean as your going to get.


Do not use a computer unfortunately :/


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2017 4:12 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2004 7:39 am
Posts: 1659
Location: Canada
I think the best way is to just stick it under the stem with strong 3M double side tape or use the rubber bands provided with the interface.

another way is to stick it on the left side of the stem so you have easy access to the charge port. The charge port is small and I've seen a lot of people destroy it especially on the V2 battery due to poor charge port placement.

Image

_________________
██


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2017 4:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 2:45 pm
Posts: 43
I have V3. One disappointment is I can't run the interface unit underneath my stem. I have 9 cm slammed stem with no spacers. V3 interface unit won't fit unlike my older V2 which fit fine. If my stem wasn't slammed it would fit instead it hits up against the head tube. I had to rotate it to the left side of the stem. I think the stem is the best place to mount it. The V3 interface is a bit more bulbous looking over V2. I don't think V3 can be mounted under a Barfly Garmin mount. I think that only worked with V2.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2017 9:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 10:32 am
Posts: 357
Location: UK
I have two V3 bikes with the interface under a Barfly mount. One is a 2.0:

Image
Image

The other is attached to a SLi 2.0:

Image
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2017 9:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 8
Mockenrue wrote:
I have two V3 bikes with the interface under a Barfly mount. One is a 2.0:

Image
Image

The other is attached to a SLi 2.0:

Image
Image



very nice, thanks!!!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 04, 2017 3:52 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2004 7:39 am
Posts: 1659
Location: Canada
For those using the deda superzero stem, there is a di2 clip made for that stem. I'm sure campy interface can be installed with small tie wraps.


Image

Image

_________________
██


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 04, 2017 5:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2012 12:49 am
Posts: 502
I think under the stem is still the best location with the wires shrink-wrapped with non-segmented brake cable housing where possible.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 04, 2017 8:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 2:36 am
Posts: 105
Hey Keaton,

Here's my bike. Please note the red arrows. I use a 6mm spiral cable wrap, which you can find on eBay. There are several types out there. Some being more flimsy than others. The stronger, better quality ones is made by Panduit and it's the type that Campy provides with the EPS (although too short for this application). I could not see how they do the cable entry points on your BMC model. But Pinarello does a great job with this, especially if you want to use standard handlebars/stems.

I try to put the wrap on both, the front and rear brake cables, since this allows me to guide both shift cables neatly. I also try not to bend the interface cables too much. I liked the Campy V2 interface a bit better because it was more compact (rectangular) and I used to put it nicely on the curve of the rear brake cable, where I could see it. The new interface, IMO, is a bit bulky and hard to place anywhere other than the places where you see it in the pics that the others and me have provided. I am hoping Campy will do something about this with their V4 EPS. It's about time to get rid of the awkward charger/ connector, etc.

You may also want to look at pictures from other Pro bike set ups, such as Movistar and Lotto. They do nice clean jobs.

..A..

PHOTO 1
Image
PHOTO 2
Image
PHOTO 3
Image


Last edited by avispa on Mon Mar 06, 2017 7:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 05, 2017 1:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 11:05 pm
Posts: 253
Image

3M tape to hold the junction box onto the stem and high quality electrical tape to reduce the spaghetti.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

_________________
My Protos
My XR4


Last edited by Seedster on Wed Mar 08, 2017 4:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 4:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 8
[quote="avispa"]Hey Keaton,

Here's my bike. Please note the red arrows. I use a 6mm spiral cable wrap, which you can find on eBay. There are several types out there. Some being more flimsy than others. The stronger, better quality ones is made by Panduit and it's the type that Campy provides with the EPS (although too short for this application). I could not see how they do the cable entry points on your BMC model. But Pinarello does a great job with this, especially if you want to use standard handlebars/stems.

I try to put the wrap on both, the front and rear brake cables, since this allows me to guide both shift cables neatly. I also try not to bend the interface cables too much. I liked the Campy V2 interface a bit better because it was more compact (rectangular) and I used to put it nicely on the curve of the rear brake cable, where I could see it. The new interface, IMO, is a bit bulky and hard to place anywhere other than the places where you see it in the pics that the others and me have provided. I am hoping Campy will do something about this with their V4 EPS. It's about time to get rid of the awkward charger connector, etc.

You may also want to look at pictures from other Pro bike set ups, such as Movistar and Lotto. They do nice clean jobs.

..A..

Very nice! Thanks for the input!!!!


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 4:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 8
Seedster wrote:
Image


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

\
:D


Top
   
Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 4:42 pm 


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Attachment(s) Campagnolo 11 speed using 34/50x11/36! Yes it can be done with PRE-2015 Athena LC Big Gears on Campagnolo 11 speed

in Road

colnagoaddict

12

990

Mon Aug 28, 2017 12:26 am

c50jim View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Campagnolo Lockring

in Road

3Pio

9

770

Sun Dec 18, 2016 12:41 pm

bikerjulio View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Campagnolo 11/32 cassette

in Road

markyboy

7

1156

Tue May 30, 2017 11:48 am

garjo View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Campagnolo EPS unhook

in Road

Cemicar

6

714

Thu Aug 31, 2017 6:53 am

spookyload View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Campagnolo Freehub help

in Road

marco fan

8

783

Thu Apr 20, 2017 2:13 pm

Madone69 View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 2focused, dak, Google [Bot], kode54, Leviathan and 40 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited