Clothing recommendation for touring in the Alps (South Tyrol) in May

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

nemeseri

by nemeseri

I plan to do a bike touring vacation in South Tyrol in May with my buddy and started to do some research.
Seems like the climate data is quite vague. I guess because of the wild differences between high valleys and sunnier towns at lower elevation.

Our route includes famous passes (Stelvio, Gavia) and a lot of variation in elevation. I'm looking for first hand experiences what we should expect temperature wise. Any clothing tips are welcomed for long touring rides, given I have zero experience in packing for anything longer than 2 days.
Last edited by nemeseri on Tue Feb 07, 2017 1:56 am, edited 1 time in total.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

sgergole

by sgergole

Shorts, no need for thermo or 3/4. Arm warmers and optional knee warmers. Long windstopper for the descents and always a base layer. The main problem wi be going downhill, on the top of the mountain ask a newspaper to put between the wind stopper and the jersey. You can find snow on the top of tbe stelvio or gavia, but in the valley (bormio for example) there are 20 degrees without problems. If you go for long, medium/slow rides, then consider long sleeves

gitsome

by gitsome

Ive only hiked there but bre prepared for ANYYHING from sumny 70 degs to snow whiteout in same day. Id bring one of everything long and short gloves, shorts bibs and a shell and couple of insulating and base layers, neck warmer, sunglasses and a race jersey. Its bannanas up there, and the most beautoful place on earth :) BE AWARE OF HUGE BUSES!!! BRING SAFETY LIGHTS FRONT AND BACK and cell backup battery, 2 bottles lots of snacks

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
My wallet is the lightest thing on my bike.

Mr.Gib

by Mr.Gib