Help me get some tubulars

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

zalle

by zalle

Hi guys, I just got a set of new 1kg carbon wheels. I'm new to tubular, but one thing I found out straight away is that tubular are expensive.

I don't understand if they are heavier or lighter than clinchers. Michelin pro race 4 + cont. Extra light tubes weigh 250g combined. A tubular needs liquid inside, and glue... How much does it weight?

Which light tubulars can I buy without breaking the bank? I'd like to go a bit more comfortable,around 25c. I read a lot about the arenberg...

Thanks

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

joejack951

by joejack951

I'm still learning about tubulars, too. I should be ready soon to try Tufo taping my first pair after I finish building my wheels.

One thing to consider with tubular prices is that the production volumes on tubulars are likely an order of magnitude lower than for clinchers. So you will pay more for what you get. As far as weight is concerned, try to compare like for like. If you are factoring in sealant in both of your tubulars, also factor in the weight of two extra tubes plus tire levers for your clinchers. Clinchers also need rim tape which is probably about the same weight as glue or tubular tape. Also, much of the weight savings is going to be on the wheels (rims) as you know. Not many 1kg clincher wheelsets around.

I ended up choosing Vittoria Corsa G+ 25mm tires for myself, considering I wanted some flat protection and I'm also following the trend of a wider rim and tire combo (27mm wide rims for me). They measure a true 25mm and weigh in on average at 277 grams. The Speed version is considerably lighter but only 23mm.

I got mine from Ribble for $56 each a few months ago but they've gone up to $64 since.

Rudi

by Rudi

Have a look at the tubular thread: