Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About Impressum
It is currently Sat Oct 21, 2017 3:28 pm

All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 71 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5

Quarq v Stages
Quarq Dzero SRAM 92%  92%  [ 66 ]
SRAM Red with Stages 8%  8%  [ 6 ]
Total votes: 72
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2017 10:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2015 4:04 pm
Posts: 118
Stages uses FSA arm with new axle since FSA's and Sram's spline is different. I never had a chance to compare on since most people I know use Shimano or Quarq.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 6:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 3:30 am
Posts: 236
gurk700 wrote:
Excuse my weak legs. But here's 2 rides. First one with Stages Duraace version 2. Second with Quarq DZero. Exact same route except where I hit start and stop is off by a few seconds. Elevation discrepancy is cause of my Garmin. You be the judge!

Image

Regarding the L/R balance issue, I guess one ride isn't enough to judge.

I have Vector 2 and found that the balance could be different between different activities (say 1hr training ride vs 2hrs+ racing).


Top
   
Posted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 6:19 am 
  • SRAM Quarq DZero Carbon BB30 30mm hidden bolt BCD 110mm 170mm
  • 770.9 EUR
  • Price includes 19% V.A.T. which will be deducted when goods are leaving the EU. Shipping costs may be added.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 8:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 26, 2012 11:26 pm
Posts: 966
I sanded the stages logo off my stages carbon arm. The carbon is quite different from the etap but when do you ever see both crankarms sideon simultaneously on a bike.

_________________
Evo 5.02kg SL3 6.77 Slice RS 8.89 viewtopic.php?f=10&t=110579" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2017 5:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 7:40 pm
Posts: 27
jlok wrote:
gurk700 wrote:
Excuse my weak legs. But here's 2 rides. First one with Stages Duraace version 2. Second with Quarq DZero. Exact same route except where I hit start and stop is off by a few seconds. Elevation discrepancy is cause of my Garmin. You be the judge!

Image

Regarding the L/R balance issue, I guess one ride isn't enough to judge.

I have Vector 2 and found that the balance could be different between different activities (say 1hr training ride vs 2hrs+ racing).

I've used Vector 2 for about a year before this ride (before I gave it to my brother) and I can honestly say the differences were negligible.
99% of the rides were 51% left 49% right for me.

Everybody is different though, obviously.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 11:51 pm
Posts: 1235
having had p1 PM my experience was that my balance is 45-46 Left @ ~z2/z3 and levels out to 50%+/-0.5% at FTP

i am certainly not saying that one-side is useless as a training tool, but complete power is better for sure.

Currently on P2M


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 6:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 3:30 am
Posts: 236
gurk700 wrote:
jlok wrote:
gurk700 wrote:
Excuse my weak legs. But here's 2 rides. First one with Stages Duraace version 2. Second with Quarq DZero. Exact same route except where I hit start and stop is off by a few seconds. Elevation discrepancy is cause of my Garmin. You be the judge!

Image


Everybody is different though, obviously.

exactly that. that's why single-sided power meter are much cheaper.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 7:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 5:08 pm
Posts: 907
Went with Rotor INpower in the end for her bike. It's reading 10% higher than the Tacx Neo.

I have the same power meter on my bike and it's also reading around 10% higher than the Neo.

Not sure if the Rotors are over-reporting or the Neo is under-reporting.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 3:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2015 3:04 pm
Posts: 337
Quarq has big issue. "Can't zero"

So I recommend "Stages"

See I can do that too.

Personally I just sold my Quarq DZero, whilst their customer service is excellent, I've had nothing but trouble with it, whereas for me at least, I've had no issues with Stages or InPower, and both track within 2-5% of each other on the same route in similar conditions, so I'm also confident in its accuracy. I'd add that the Quarq was also with in the same range, before I ended up having issues with weird zero offset numbers and then correspondingly weird power numbers (either too high, or too low)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 7:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 26, 2012 11:26 pm
Posts: 966
Signal drop out on stages in my exlerience is always a poor battery contact. If the catches are broken replacement the battery door for dmfree at any dealer, use electical tape temporarily if they fon't have one. If the door is okay, pry up the contacts underneath the battery

_________________
Evo 5.02kg SL3 6.77 Slice RS 8.89 viewtopic.php?f=10&t=110579" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 08, 2017 3:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 3:55 pm
Posts: 90
My Quarq Dzero finally arrived a few days ago. Installed it yesterday which was a bit of a faff because I needed a bench vice to crimp the Kurled nut into the chainring. I didn't have a bench vice so tried to wing it by using a G clamp. That was a complete waste of time so I ended up buying a bench vice. I was going to go out for a first ride with it today but it has been raining all morning so that will ahve to wait. One thing I did notice is that the left crank arm is a differnet shape to my previous red crank that came with my etap. The crank arm that came with the power meter has a thicker aluminuim plate on the back which makes the crank stick out from the BB more. The arm does seem a differnet shape to the previous crank arm so I'm guessing they will position the pedal in the same place.



This is the Dzero Red crank arm

Image



And here is the original crank arm

Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 08, 2017 10:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 4:32 pm
Posts: 166
Location: North Carolina, USA
Those hidden chainring nuts are a total PITA. Considering how clever the folks at SRAM are, I have to believe there's a better way to achieve the same affect. One note, be sure to check the torque of your chainring bolts every "now and then". Mine seem to be off perhaps 1-2 ft/lb after about 500 miles, which I believe does affect the accuracy of the PM.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 71 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Lil help w/ old SRAM (Red?) power meter?

in Road

Kidtreo

4

317

Fri Aug 18, 2017 4:34 pm

sungod View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Power meter for 2016 Sram red 22

in Road

Monkeychunki

5

504

Mon May 22, 2017 8:23 pm

ergott View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Stages power meter and Cannondale

in Road

Thenuge

3

366

Fri Sep 01, 2017 2:06 pm

morrisond View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Attachment(s) Stages Power Meter Questions...

in Road

wboyle3

13

800

Sun Sep 03, 2017 8:38 pm

GothicCastle View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Stages Carbon Power Meter

in Road

JoeFlan

11

1744

Mon Nov 28, 2016 3:30 am

shotgun View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], jwfinesse, Miller, wingguy and 42 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited