Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About Impressum
It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 4:20 pm

All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 67 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 10:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2016 1:39 pm
Posts: 678
shinzomaeda wrote:
Image


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Why not mount it on the lower bolts, so its even with the bars? Seems silly to buy an S5 with all of the aero advancements and clean front end and then funk it up with a mount that posts the Gamin up into the wind like a sail.

_________________
2016 Pactimo Brand Ambassador
http://www.Crankaddicts.cc
http://www.skratchlabs.com
2015 Specialized S-Works Allez
2015 Specialized Venge Pro


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 7:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 5:08 pm
Posts: 957
glam2deaf wrote:
I recently found rec-mounts via instagram. Haven't tried them personally, but they look good to me. There are also other options for other bars and computers. https://www.rec-mounts.com/products/cervelo/garmin/


They have exactly the right idea. Just what I'm looking to do.

But so ridiculously ugly. It's like it was made on a gameshow that told you you have 10 minutes to make a mount from anything you find in a garage.

And they're not shy about charging you £60 too.

Thinking of some kind of bodge now. Imagine this, but longer, strapped/taped (maybe with a little rubber wedge) to the underside of the stem.

Image

Probably a shaky mess :|


Top
   
Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 7:07 am 


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 7:58 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2007 10:23 am
Posts: 1275
Location: Pack filler
CrankAddictsRich wrote:
shinzomaeda wrote:
Image


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Why not mount it on the lower bolts, so its even with the bars? Seems silly to buy an S5 with all of the aero advancements and clean front end and then funk it up with a mount that posts the Gamin up into the wind like a sail.



Because you can't hit the start button with it lower?
New garmin mounts sit the unit higher as well.

_________________
Official cafe stop tester


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 10:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 9:03 am
Posts: 39
jekyll man wrote:
CrankAddictsRich wrote:
shinzomaeda wrote:
Image


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Why not mount it on the lower bolts, so its even with the bars? Seems silly to buy an S5 with all of the aero advancements and clean front end and then funk it up with a mount that posts the Gamin up into the wind like a sail.



Because you can't hit the start button with it lower?
New garmin mounts sit the unit higher as well.

Correct, I had problems accessing the buttons when mounted lower.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 11:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 5:08 pm
Posts: 957
Shinzo, what if it was touchscreen, like the 820? Would it fit? Would be useable too.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 11:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 9:03 am
Posts: 39
Shrike wrote:
Shinzo, what if it was touchscreen, like the 820? Would it fit? Would be useable too.

Good point! When I get home tonight I'll swap it over to lower position, extend it out, measure and take a picture!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 11:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 9:03 am
Posts: 39
Omg! I've just read that again and sounds wrong !


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 11:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 5:08 pm
Posts: 957
So wrong, but so right :D


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 11:14 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2007 10:23 am
Posts: 1275
Location: Pack filler
Lap and start / stop buttons ARE on the bottom end on an 820.

Touch screen or not doesnt come into it.


Ive had older mounts not take my 820; maybe the mounting lugs are slightly off set from middle on the newer garmins :noidea:

_________________
Official cafe stop tester


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 11:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 5:08 pm
Posts: 957
Shame about the 820 buttons. There's goes another idea..

Might end up with one of those rec mount things.

/shudder


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 1:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2016 1:39 pm
Posts: 678
jekyll man wrote:
Lap and start / stop buttons ARE on the bottom end on an 820.

Touch screen or not doesnt come into it.


Ive had older mounts not take my 820; maybe the mounting lugs are slightly off set from middle on the newer garmins :noidea:


Ahhh. I have an 820 and I use the Barfly Fizik mount on my bikes with S-Works bars. It sits flush and I can still use the buttons easily, but maybe the pointed angle of the S5 bars make it trickier and the Fetha isn't quite as long. Can you get the Fetha in different lengths? I'd contact them... maybe they can develop an S5 specific model. It seems like something that is missing form the market and could be a great business oppurtunity.

_________________
2016 Pactimo Brand Ambassador
http://www.Crankaddicts.cc
http://www.skratchlabs.com
2015 Specialized S-Works Allez
2015 Specialized Venge Pro


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2017 2:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 12:54 am
Posts: 68
Image
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 9:03 am
Posts: 39
I checked mine last night, by mounted off the bottom stem bolts and it doesn't fit my Garmin 520, I have the short one. Perhaps the long one would be better, but I can't tell at the moment. Sorry I can't help much more.

Miles


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 5:08 pm
Posts: 957
No worries, thanks for checking. Still waiting on a reply from Fetha on it. Probably be around 3 weeks for an email reply judging by last time :D


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 9:03 am
Posts: 39
Shrike wrote:
No worries, thanks for checking. Still waiting on a reply from Fetha on it. Probably be around 3 weeks for an email reply judging by last time :D

That's a shame, he was pretty helpful when I dealt with him before, maybe a busy time? Best of luck, would be interesting to see the solution when it's solved.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
   
Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:30 am 


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 67 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. K-Edge Garmin Mount - Regular vs XL

in Road

ipenguinking

6

385

Wed Nov 22, 2017 5:47 am

TonyM View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Out-Front Mount Request - to hold a Garmin 500 & Bontrager Ion 700

in Road

Matt28NJ

1

742

Thu Jan 26, 2017 3:56 pm

SpecializedColnago View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Converting flat mount to post mount

in Road

Miller

1

479

Wed Mar 01, 2017 11:55 am

Broady View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. TRP U-mount Alternatives

in Road

prebsy

0

386

Fri Dec 30, 2016 7:54 pm

prebsy View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. GoPro stem mount ?

in Road

Allen254

10

1017

Sat Jan 07, 2017 8:16 am

spookyload View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AZR3, calleking, holgerscheller, PinaF8, Yahoo [Bot] and 45 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited