Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About Impressum
It is currently Sat Oct 21, 2017 3:28 pm

All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 134 posts ]  Go to page Previous 14 5 6 7 8 9 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2017 11:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 11:23 am
Posts: 9
Hi. Just net here and ordered EW-WU111. Quick question: thuis unit is for internal frame mounting. Which place suits best to place it for best reception? And is it just plug and play?
Thanks


Top
   
Posted: Sun Mar 12, 2017 11:27 am 


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2017 11:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 11:47 am
Posts: 1
I put mine in the frame and plugged into the internal battery. Is working fine and was plug and play


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2017 2:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 5:47 pm
Posts: 18
@Macses

I think officially Shimano says to mount them outside the frame for best reception, but I put my WU101 inside where the cable from my A junction enters the frame (just behind the head tube), and I'm having no issues at all.

Mileage may vary if you have an aluminum frame with internal cable routing, but I've seen enough people that have them working inside with carbon to safely say it works fine.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2017 6:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 11:23 am
Posts: 9
I have a carbon frame. I have ultegra di2 but ordered the wu111. I read it also works with ultegra but was designed for duraace. But since it's smaller and advertised as in frame solution and same privé as the wu101 I opted for this.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2017 7:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 4:35 pm
Posts: 17
havana wrote:
I'm using a custom 12-30 (11sp) cassette; which is not configurable. So i chose 11-30 in stead.

No matter how I configure the system, the system shifts to 50x28 (=10th cog) before the system shifts to the small ring... impossible to adjust the threshold point to the 2nd largest cog. In other words the chain line is still horrible. Disappointing to say the least !

I agree that having a limit on Synchro Shift that it will only drop from the big ring to the little one when you reach either the second biggest cog (say 28T) or the biggest one (say 32T) is disappointing to say the least! Also, quite hard to understand the reason for it. I would say avoiding the largest two cogs would be quite a sensible idea. Perhaps they believe that the strain on the chain or gears would be too great, for some reason, although the semi-synchro would do exactly what I want if I hit the front change while in the third cog (25T)!

I thought it might be a bug in the e-tube GUI, so having tried every type of cassette and every combination of chain rings, I thought I would just try and hack the preset settings file. However, when I did this, loading the hacked preset gave a validation error on the Rear Derailleur Change Point, so it seems to be more than just a bug.

Looking at the settings file, the ChangePointRD for the Synchromap2 Direction Down has acceptable values of only 1 to 2 (or 254 which appears to be for semi-synch mode). When I set it to 3 it gave the validation error on loading into e-tube.

;Direction UP:0 DOWN:1
Synchromap2_1_Direction=0
;ChangePointFD 1 to 2
Synchromap2_1_ChangePointFD=1
;ChangePointRD 1 to 11 , 254
Synchromap2_1_ChangePointRD=8
;AimPoint 1 to 11
Synchromap2_1_AimPoint=6
;Direction UP:0 DOWN:1
Synchromap2_2_Direction=1
;ChangePointFD 1 to 2
Synchromap2_2_ChangePointFD=2
;ChangePointRD 1 to 2 , 254
Synchromap2_2_ChangePointRD=2
;AimPoint 1 to 11
Synchromap2_2_AimPoint=4

So it appears to be a deliberate choice by Shimano!

I hope they change their mind(s).

Geoff


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 2:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2017 2:18 am
Posts: 5
Have people got a buzzer to work?

Where/what is the Buzzer??
* Bluetooth D Fly?
* Garmin Head Unit?
* Something else to plug into Junction Box??


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 4:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:56 pm
Posts: 1386
Location: Canada
Probably a translation issue. The edge 1000 can be set to beep prior to a synchro front ring change.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 8:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 7:55 pm
Posts: 338
Noise comes from Garmin. I have 520 and it notifies when I'm on either end of gears.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 10:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2017 2:18 am
Posts: 5
TurboKoo wrote:
Noise comes from Garmin. I have 520 and it notifies when I'm on either end of gears.


Do you have to do anything to set this up apart from connect your D Fly to Head Unit?

Looking through the Firmware Updates, does only the Bluetooth D Fly's EW-WU101 / EW-WU111 and not the ANT+ Only SM-EWW01 send the Buzzing Request through to the Head Unit?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 8:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 7:57 am
Posts: 1072
Location: New Zealand
barn wrote:
TurboKoo wrote:
Noise comes from Garmin. I have 520 and it notifies when I'm on either end of gears.


Do you have to do anything to set this up apart from connect your D Fly to Head Unit?

Looking through the Firmware Updates, does only the Bluetooth D Fly's EW-WU101 / EW-WU111 and not the ANT+ Only SM-EWW01 send the Buzzing Request through to the Head Unit?


You need to update the firmware on the Garmin

_________________
Wheelworks.co.nz
New Zealand handbuilt wheels


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 11:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 11:23 am
Posts: 9
Is it possible to see the gear mode (m, s1 or s2) on a Garmin 810? I can see the gears and such but not the mode of synchro shifting

Thanks!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 12:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 5:47 pm
Posts: 18
Macses wrote:
Is it possible to see the gear mode (m, s1 or s2) on a Garmin 810? I can see the gears and such but not the mode of synchro shifting

Thanks!


I have a 810 as well and I haven't seen it. It might be in the Di2 "About" page. As I recall, that's where you can change the cassette and chainring sizes, so I'm going to assume that's where it'd be. That being said, probably just easier to reach below the stem and hit the button depending on how you have the junction box mounted.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 12:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:56 pm
Posts: 1386
Location: Canada
They've added an extra field to the edge 1000 called shift mode. You can display it just like any other field on data pages. So check in "gears" category for that field.

Sent from my SM-G900W8 using Tapatalk

_________________
My RCA


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 12:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 15, 2010 2:01 pm
Posts: 244
goodboyr wrote:
They've added an extra field to the edge 1000 called shift mode. You can display it just like any other field on data pages. So check in "gears" category for that field.

Sent from my SM-G900W8 using Tapatalk

Are you able to change the shift mode on your edge 1000? I tap it where it says "Tap to change" then it says updating but doesn't change the shift mode.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
   
Posted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 12:26 pm 


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 12:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:56 pm
Posts: 1386
Location: Canada
I had that happen last week when I first updated everything. But this week it seems to be working just fine. Go figure.....

Sent from my SM-G900W8 using Tapatalk

_________________
My RCA


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 134 posts ]  Go to page Previous 14 5 6 7 8 9 Next

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. New Shimano eTube 3.2.1 enables synchro shifting for 9070?

in Road

2old4this

6

824

Thu Mar 30, 2017 8:21 am

TurboKoo View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Setting up AX3000s with Tune housing

in Road

4ibanez

6

489

Fri May 12, 2017 5:23 am

shimmeD View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Setting up the Shimano Di2 EW-RS910 Bar End Junction A Charging Point 2 Port

in Road

melchionda

13

3566

Sun Apr 02, 2017 2:03 am

sugarkane View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. SRAM shifting with Di2

in Road

sturvey

3

942

Sat Mar 11, 2017 6:28 am

Racingevo View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Sram red 22 shifting issue

in Road

Olivv

10

800

Tue May 16, 2017 5:44 pm

Olivv View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], jwfinesse, Miller, wingguy and 42 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited