Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About Impressum
It is currently Wed Oct 18, 2017 12:44 pm

All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2016 6:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 6:34 pm
Posts: 3
Upgraded my road bike with an aero handlebar with internal cable routing but I'm having issues.
The exit port allows 2 cable to fit but the intake ports only allow 1 cable.
The Intake ports are on the top of the handle bar (1 left + 1 right side)
However, I'm using a Shimano Ultegra 6800 shifters and the brake and shifter cables both exit the shifter on the same side.
Therefore, the brake cable has to make a very sharp turn over the top of the bars and causes a bit of binding.
Am I routing it correctly or is there a better method?

Here is a pic that somebody else posted with the same issue:
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2016 6:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 9:14 pm
Posts: 4696
Yes, there's a much better way. That is to ignore the internal routing on the outside of the bar. Just route the cable externally on the inside and tape it up. If you want the tops of the bars untaped, then you have a dilemma that you'll have to make some decisions about. I have done some bars where I completely ignore the internal cable routing because it compromises performance (on mechanical systems). It's one of those things I always think about when choosing bars and levers for a particular build... how is it all going to work together? What you are showing there would be completely unacceptable routing in my books, and I would either route the cable externally or choose a different bar.

_________________
Colnago C60 - PR99
C59 Five Years Later
My Special Colnago EPQ
Trek Emonda SL Campagnolo SR


Top
   
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2016 6:57 pm 


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2016 7:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 6:34 pm
Posts: 3
Calnago wrote:
Yes, there's a much better way. That is to ignore the internal routing on the outside of the bar. Just route the cable externally on the inside and tape it up. If you want the tops of the bars untaped, then you have a dilemma that you'll have to make some decisions about. I have done some bars where I completely ignore the internal cable routing because it compromises performance (on mechanical systems). It's one of those things I always think about when choosing bars and levers for a particular build... how is it all going to work together? What you are showing there would be completely unacceptable routing in my books, and I would either route the cable externally or choose a different bar.


Yea I was hoping to leave the top of the bars untapeded since I prefer the exposed look and the design printed on the tops....
guess the only other option would be to drill the hole larger but it might compromise the structural integrity.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2016 7:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 9:14 pm
Posts: 4696
I wouldn't start drilling around the outside hole as you might create some stress risers allowing a crack to form a propagate further. And that's kind of a critical area in your bars. Just don't mess with it. You said the exit port allows both cables to exit, right. In that case, I think I'd just go ahead and try it as shown in the picture and see if the performance is acceptable to you (it might be). If it is, then all good. If it isn't, well, you know why. But with that cable routing, there is definitely some compromise that you're going to have to accept.

_________________
Colnago C60 - PR99
C59 Five Years Later
My Special Colnago EPQ
Trek Emonda SL Campagnolo SR


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2016 7:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 3:03 am
Posts: 2608
Location: Islip, NY
Sorry to see that issue. Not cool and I for one would have liked to know of that problem up front. I would consider that a deal breaker and swap either the bars or the group you are using.

_________________
www.ergottwheels.com


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Sep 28, 2016 5:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 6:34 pm
Posts: 3
Is there a way to route the brake cable on the shimano shifters so they exit on the outside of the shifters?
I see that it is possible with SRAM shifters in this pic to have 2 different route options
Image


Top
   
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2016 5:05 am 


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 28, 2016 9:13 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 5:14 pm
Posts: 212
Location: Kent
What bar is it?

_________________
.....but it still has to work!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Stems with internal cable routing

in Road

murphyk

5

845

Fri Oct 13, 2017 4:14 pm

kode54 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Compressionless brake housing for internal routing

in Road

bikewithnoname

6

839

Sun Apr 16, 2017 7:43 am

bikewithnoname View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Cable routing tips for a Di2 newbie

in Road

simurs4

3

655

Tue Feb 28, 2017 4:50 am

jlok View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Does anybody know of a round carbon Handlebar that works with internal Junction A, EW-RS910?

in Road

Voyagertwelve

14

939

Thu Jul 20, 2017 1:33 am

Voyagertwelve View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Link cable housing and internal full length runs?

in Road

SpecializedColnago

8

909

Wed Apr 12, 2017 1:53 pm

reknop View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], hamd, Keeno, markyboy, MayhemSWE, velomane and 38 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited