Red crank loose pedal insert repair (DIY) step by step

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

josemari220

by josemari220

Hello everybody.
Sadly i am another victim of the carbon crank pedal insert loose. MIne are Sram Red. Not so usual like FSA, but the same consequence. Many post asking for solutions or repairs, but seems that almost nobody do it. Some of them tried to put some glue through holes, but nobody tried to do a real repair, so I have done it. Looking for practice more than do a real repair. This is my first attempt with carbon fiber, so I don´t mind which will be the final results.
So here you have the proccess with some pics to see real step by step.

First is to discover the pedal insert. You can do it easilly with a grinder. I opened a window in the front face.
1 red crank insert view comp.JPG

Then the insert can be taken out to clean the old epoxi and carbon residues.
Because of the unbonded, the insert is a bit loose, so it is necesary to add a thin layer of carbon where it sits to fill the gap. The good thing is that the inside of the arm has a shape where the insert sits perfectly, so is in no possible to vary the position, angle, lenght, etc.
To avoid epoxy goes to the pedal thread, I put thick grease in it, and cover both holes with a rouded piece of adhesive tape, just to cover the hole.
2 red crank insert out comp.JPG

With the insert out, you can see the hollow inside of the arm. Hi-tech.
3 red crank insert hollow arm comp.JPG

I designed some pieces with paper, with the shapes of carbon to do the layers. It is necesry to
wrap in differents directions, and it is complicated because the rouded shape of the arm end.
I also cut an small piece of poliuretane foam to fill an smal gap between the insert and the arm. The carbon must to be pressed, and, if is nothing under it, the carbon will fall into the hole and it will be not well compacted.
4 red crank planning carbon pieces comp.JPG