2015 Cervelo S5 TriRig rear brake install

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

DamenH85

by DamenH85

Hi Everyone-

I'm building up a new S5 using TriRig brakes front and rear. The front fits great, no problem, but I'm not happy with how the rear is looking. The frame size is 51 and I've had to use a lot of spacers on the mounting bolt to get the cable hanger to clear the frame. I'm concerned about how this setup will react under braking forces, so I'm posting here to get some opinions to either confirm or calm my concerns. I've contacted TriRig with the same photo to get their response as well. Thanks for looking!

damen

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

lee16

by lee16

That's normal for that frame.

spud

by spud

I'm not an expert in aero. But it looks to me like have that brake that far off the stays negates any aero advantage over a standard caliper.

glepore

by glepore

Thinking that too, and also thinking that behind the stays like that there isn't much aero advantage. The TriRig does look cool though.
Cysco Ti custom Campy SR mechanical (6.9);Berk custom (5.6); Serotta Ottrott(6.8) ; Anvil Custom steel Etap;1996 Colnago Technos Record

DMF

by DMF

Try a Simkins Egg brake on the rear instead. I would never ride that setup, about the equivalent of a 10cm stack of headset spacers on a carbon steerer ;)

RyanH

by RyanH

It's a known incompatibility with the S5 and rear brake. I thought they even stated so in the product page. There's a workaround somewhere, maybe on slow twitch if you Google around.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

DamenH85

by DamenH85

Re: compatibility