favorite grease to use?

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

addictR1

by addictR1

i've been using Phil Wood Waterproof Grease for many years on my crankset. looking to find something lighter to use that won't provide so much friction.

current BB is SRAM, but that will soon be changed to Hawk Racking bb86 soon. so wanted to use some thing light for grease.

what's your favorite?

kode54

by kode54

i've been using the Campy white grease. one of my favorites. used to use Phil Wood waterproof grease but was a little heavier. also use Baller's Nixfrixtion grease on other stuff like headsets.
- Factor Ostro VAM Disc
- Factor LS Disc
- Specialized Aethos Disc
- Sturdy Ti Allroad Disc
- Guru Praemio R Disc

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

addictR1

by addictR1

kode54: yea, i do notice the Phil's is a bit too thick! great for headset, but would like to have my crank spin more freely.. ;)

will check out the campy white grease.

Stolichnaya

by Stolichnaya

Extralite Alugrease is worth a look too.

kdawg

by kdawg

I like the green Shimano stuff. Used to be branded Dura-Ace but I think it's just Shimano Premium grease now. Just the right consistency and it even smells nice.
I'm left handed, if that matters.

pdlpsher1

by pdlpsher1

kdawg wrote:I like the green Shimano stuff. Used to be branded Dura-Ace but I think it's just Shimano Premium grease now. Just the right consistency and it even smells nice.

I just got some of this stuff but I haven't tried it yet. Does anyone know how to use this stuff in a grease injector? I'd like to lube my Speedplay pedals with this grease.

prendrefeu

by prendrefeu

Anti-sieze lube:
http://www.amazon.com/Permatex-80078-An ... B000FW7VGE
Can also be picked up from any auto-parts store, enough for more builds than you wallet can manage.