Stranded by Electric?

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

Bridgeman

by Bridgeman

Has anyone been stranded out on the road, or unable to ride because of electronic shifting failure?

I really like the idea that I can always ride with mechanical, as it is nearly completely reliable. I don't like missing getting out on the road for any reason.

Would like to hear of electronic problem observations.

mimason

by mimason

Stranded but with the caveat that you can still ride in 1 gear and hopefully not user error from failure to charge the battery??

Personal experience is a battery died due to user failure to charge but that was early on with first 4 months. I have been using Di2 for 18 months otherwise without issue.
Last edited by mimason on Wed Mar 16, 2016 6:01 pm, edited 3 times in total.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

by 11.4

I've had broken derailleur cables and had to jerry-rig a workable gear. Honestly, electronic shifting is more reliable than mechanical and the backup systems in the rare instance that you run out of power will still let you ride home better than if you broke a mechanical wire cable. Anyway, Di2 lasts several months between charges. If you just recharge quarterly, you'll never have an issue. Learn how to reset the system if you fall and it goes into safety mode (which mechanical doesn't have, by the way) and you're safely home again.

Calnago
In Memoriam

by Calnago