Advice on pedals

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

lynton

by lynton

I am after a new set of pedals and need some user experience to help guide me.

I currently have a set of Look Keo's that are about 4 years old and a set of Shimano Ultegra's that are a few years old.

I do like the Shimano's in the way they work in entry and exit but they have developed an annoying click in the left pedal.

The Looks are ok but annoying to clip into at night because they don't hang rear down like the Shimano's.

So far I have found Look Keo Blades that seem to have increased in size but decreased in weight. Still concerned about entry on these as they don't appear to be weighted to hang rear down.

Another option is the Speedplay X2 Stainless road. Weight looks good, could get lighter in the Speedplay but then the cost gets crazy. I have never used Speedplay before so this is uncharted terrtory for me.

I have also seen the Time Xpresso 10, weight is ok but I would really appreciate some information on what they are like to use.

The big issue with me is I can not tolerate pedals/cleats that squeek or rattle as it drives me nuts.

So can anyone help me out before I spend a lot of money on something that ends up another paper weight

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

cobrakai

by cobrakai

Have you tried disassembling the Ultegra pedals and lubing the bearings?

lynton

by lynton

cobrakai wrote:Have you tried disassembling the Ultegra pedals and lubing the bearings?

I have, also replaced the cleats and still the noise remains.

Noise is not there wit the Look pedals fitted but they squeak with anything but a brand new cleat. I am thinking the new Keo blades may not do this but that is why I am after some user experience.

Marin

by Marin