Descending with carbon clincher still an issue?

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

riochang

by riochang

Hi all, just got my canyon aeroad with Reynolds strike slg Carbon wheelset.

It's my first time riding on full carbon clincher and I remember hearing people saying bad things about overheating/melting/delaminating etc when carbon clinchers started to appear few years ago.

Has the technology moved on? What do you guys think? I did a few descending test ride (5-12deg descent, max speed before braking ~60kph) with good braking techniques (not dragging on brakes etc) and so far so good. However I am a bit worried what would happen when weather starts to warm up in a few months time... Should I have faith in them?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Calnago
In Memoriam

by Calnago