Internal cable routing safety concern? (bike specific)

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

CPongpanich

by CPongpanich

Recently I found a picture of a disc brake road/gravel bike from a very popular 'b-grade' brand in Asia called Java. It has a carbon fibre fork and internal cable routing for the front disc brake. However, it looks like some one just cut a hole in the fork and routed the cable through which, I think, looks very ridiculous and unfinished. I asked the original poster whether this comes as a default from the factory and make sure if he didn't do it himself. He confirmed that it comes straight out of the factory.

To me it looks like the structural rigidity of the carbon fibre and fork might be compromised. However, I'm not an expert or very knowledgable in this area. Please, note that I have no interest in buying this bike, just curious with the structural rigidity and safety issue relating to this.

What do you think?

This is the picture of the fork and where the cable is routed through.

This is the entire bike.

Thanks,
Chanon

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

Marin

by Marin

Nice bike. I don't see why the routing should be more of a problem than on handlebars or frames.

CPongpanich

by CPongpanich

@Marin I think that the hole in the fork is not rounded properly, there are still a lot of variations on the edge of the hole. To me, it also seems like there is no extra layer of carbon added to the area around the hole to counter the missing material.

Chanon

Marin

by Marin

Yes, looks just like in my 2 bars with internal routing.

fromtrektocolnago

by fromtrektocolnago